Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Interesting undocumented options

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I get the first OpenGL program hanging too, but for some reason my X server is not affected. It could be because something on my system is unsetting LD_LIBRARY_PATH on X startup. And I need LD_LIBRARY_PATH set so that the ati libGL.so.1 get used (due to the soname bug).

    Also - I think Textured2D has a side-effect of disabling accelerated offscreen pixmaps, which I need otherwise I get the corruption around the mouse cursor bug.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Athens-Hellas
    Posts
    255

    Default

    I got this at my /var/xorg.0.log:

    [glesx] __glESXExtensionInit: No GL ES2.0 capable screen found!

    What does it mean??

    PS: I loaded module glesx at "Modules" Section with the only option that works here option "TexturedXrender" "True" cause otherwise it didn't load the glesx module.

    When I use option "Textured2D" "True", I cannot connect to X BUT xorg.0.log writes the following:

    (II) fglrx(0): GLESX enableFlags = 14
    (**) fglrx(0): Option "XaaNoOffscreenPixmaps" "True"
    (II) fglrx(0): Using XFree86 Acceleration Architecture (XAA)
    Screen to screen bit blits
    Solid filled rectangles
    Solid Horizontal and Vertical Lines
    Driver provided ScreenToScreenBitBlt replacement
    Driver provided FillSolidRects replacement
    (II) fglrx(0): GLESX is enabled
    (II) fglrx(0): X context handle = 0x1
    (II) fglrx(0): [DRI] installation complete
    (II) fglrx(0): Direct rendering enabled
    (==) fglrx(0): Silken mouse enabled
    (==) fglrx(0): Using hardware cursor

    Any Ideas??
    Last edited by djdoo; 12-06-2007 at 02:53 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I didn't put glesx in the "Modules" section, it gets automatically loaded by the fglrx driver, after other fglrx extensions (ATIFGLRXDRI and FGLRXEXTENSION) have been set up.

    I wouldn't worry too much about getting these undocumented options working - we will only discover that they are undocumented for a reason.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Athens-Hellas
    Posts
    255

    Default

    I have to agree with you my friend...

    Maybe the Textured2D option is working for certain radeon families...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    82

    Default

    How did you discover these hidden options?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I just ran strings on fglrx_drv.so - there's a list of text items that include the documented options such as VideoOverlay, but the list also includes things which aren't valid options.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Athens-Hellas
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Where is this file located?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default

    alright.. I spent the last two evenings sifting through disassambler output from aticonfig, trying to figure out --pplib-cmd options. I didn't make much progress cause the stupid thing just wouldn't accept any commands, untill I came across the EnablePPLIB config option two hours ago! :P

    setting EnablePPLIB seems to mess up the aticonfig --lsp ouput.

    My assambler knowledge is limited so some things could be wrong and as ejs1920 said before, there maybe a reason this stuff is hidden... so don't complain if you melt your card or something..

    num == some number

    get version
    get clock
    get swcntl
    get pstate
    get pmapping AC
    get pmapping DC
    get pmapping DCLOW # DCLOW doesn't work here
    get psbatterylevel AC|DC|DCLOW
    get eventCount Thermal
    get eventCount VPURecovery
    get temperature num # doesn't work
    get FanInfo num # if I enter a number I get zero values back
    get FanSpeed num # doesn't work)
    get UserState 3d|2d
    get activity # doesn't work
    get ODParam # doesn't work
    get ODLevel num # probably requires number
    get ODDefaultLevel # doesn't work
    get fs PowerPlay
    get fs OverDrive
    get fs ReducedRefreshRate
    get fs ClockGating
    get fs ReducedColorDepth
    get fs OverDriveTest
    get fs PowerBudgetWaiver
    get fs PowerExpress

    set fs PowerPlay enabled|disabled
    same as get fs ...

    set pmapping AC|DC|DCLOW optimalBattery|highBattery|balanced|highPerformanc e|optimalPerformance
    set psbatterylevel AC|DC|DCLOW num (num == some number or two. doesn't work here)

    set FanSpeed num num # probably expects two numbers, doesn't work
    set UserState 2d|3d num num # doesn't work
    set ODLevel num,num,num # doesn't work

    notify psrc dc|ac|dclow
    notify batterylevel num
    notify suspend
    notify resume
    notify restState|forcedState|exclusiveMode begin|end
    notify DispConfigChange
    notify screenSaver|VPURecovery|Thermal|textMode|3dhigh|3d low|inactive|InitCompleted begin|end
    notify AppSafeTo|AppUnsafeTo AdapterSwitch|ModeSwitch
    notify AdapterDisableSafe

    reset fan num

    enum thermal num


    an example command line would be:
    aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get version"

    which returns:
    PPLIB version is 1.3 and is inactive!

    which might explain why most things don't work. my card is a radeon 9550, maybe that's another reason ..
    Last edited by chefkoch; 12-06-2007 at 08:09 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I tried both the options but I don't notice any improvements while using compiz (always slow scrolling) or while using other apps.

    (Radeon 9600)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •