Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: HD2400pro agp + fglrx = don't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy HD2400pro agp + fglrx = don't work

    Hello,

    I purchase a HD2400 pro AGP

    I try to install (both manually and with Envy) fglrx drivers.

    With all version tested, the display doesn't work;
    I have this error:

    Code:
    >> dmesg | grep fglrx
    [ 35.722817] fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
    [ 35.726298] [fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 928 MBytes.
    [ 35.726317] [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 8.37.6 [May 25 2007] on minor 0
    [ 22.568000] [fglrx:firegl_cail_init] *ERROR* CAIL: CAILEarlyASICInit failed, error 1
    [ 22.568000] [fglrx:firegl_init_asic] *ERROR* Failed to initialize ASIC.
    [ 23.664000] [fglrx:firegl_unlock] *ERROR* Process 5006 using kernel context 0

    I post a ticket on fglrx driver feedback on AMD support website, but I think I won't have any response.

    If somebody have a HD2400Pro AGP that works with fglrx I would like its xorg.conf file

    I know that HD2400Pro PciExpress are working with AMD Driver.

    Actually I'm using Radeon HD driver but video playback
    doesn't works well. I hope 2D acceleration will work soon.

    If somebody could help me

    Best Regards

    Frich

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frich View Post
    [ 35.726317] [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 8.37.6
    Please use a more recent driver. The log states you're using 8.37 which does not have R600 support.
    8.433 (aka 7.11) is the most current version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I haven't noticed this problem;

    I copy this trace after installing manually the 7.11 fglrx driver

    My problem became more and more strange

    Best Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frich View Post
    I haven't noticed this problem;

    I copy this trace after installing manually the 7.11 fglrx driver

    My problem became more and more strange
    Oh, so the kernel module was loaded while you installed the new
    driver. Switch to thext console (press ctrl-alt-f1), kill X, remove the kernel module ('rmmod fglrx') and re-install the driver.

    Or, give Kano's excellent debian install script a try, it does
    all of the above for you:

    http://kanotix.com/files/install-fglrx-debian.sh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    418

    Default

    Also, you probably suffer from the rialto 'bug'.

    So you can start pulling those hairs ...

    http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6622

    Do install 8.4333 properly first though, maybe you're gettin' lucky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    mlau was true,

    I made a bad installation of my fglrx driver.
    maybe a problem with restricted drivers (I don't know)

    With the good fglrx version installed, I had an IRQ or a problem like that. I modified some features in my BIOS (some stuff in AGP part of the bios).

    Now The fglrx driver is loaded, fglrxinfo show that all is installed correctly; but when I launch glxgears, I have a system freeze.

    Also when I play a video, I have a lot of aliasing.

    Maybe the problem come from my xorg.conf file. I will check it when I'll come back home.

    I have an other problem since I've installed this graphic card; My network card stop working after a certain amount of time. I don't know if it is a material conflict, or if my network card is dying.


    Thank you for you're help

    Best Regards

    Frich

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    As AGP is a dying technology I would suggest to return it and get a PCI-E board instead. In any case you lose money when you upgrade the next part, you can not reuse a board or the gfx card. But at least PCI-E is better supported.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    370

    Default

    i would guess he got the AGP for a reason? afaik no motherboards have both pci express and agp, so it would be quite hard to replace only the graphics card....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    There are some lowend boards with AGP+PCI-E, but for stability reasons I would not use em.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hello,
    I choose an AGP card because my previous ATI 9800 is dead.

    My motherboard + ram + CPU works well, I don't want to change all my hardware just for a graphic card.

    It's like changing a car when you have to change only pneumatic tires.

    I saw that the HD2400 pro supports Hdmi + Hdmi sound;

    I look too fast on Linux forum about Hd2400 pro support. Pci Express works well but not on AGP. It's a mistake

    Best Regards

    Frich

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •