Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ATI's Radeon HD 3850 & 3870 On Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,193

    Default ATI's Radeon HD 3850 & 3870 On Linux

    Phoronix: ATI's Radeon HD 3850 & 3870 On Linux

    ASUS, a long-time sponsor of Phoronix, has sent out their latest ATI graphics cards, which consist of the EAH3850 TOP and EAH3870 TOP. These two graphics cards are factory-overclocked compared to the reference Radeon HD 3850 and HD 3870 specifications.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NjI0Mw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Default

    My Ati 3850 works nicely with Quake Wars, I've played 5 minutes and noticed good performance and the same issue with "flashing sky" as in Windows XP; the brightness changes sometimes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    966

    Default

    Perhaps driver bugs causing the "flashing sky"?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Windows drivers are the same version (Catalyst 7.11) and there is a thread about some problems like that on official game forums:
    http://community.enemyterritory.com/...ad.php?t=17927

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Playing some videos with Videolan shows that XV extension is not enabled, if the video window is maximized or in fullscreen the image is more or less pixelated, depending on original resolution.

    There is a thread about Ati Catalyst 7.11 and Quake Wars on the official forum:
    http://community.enemyterritory.com/...ad.php?t=17927
    the ingame sky flashes sometimes on some maps, no difference between Windows XP and Ubuntu 7.10, at least on my computer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Exclamation

    Card suddenly show black screen when going into graphical mode, I don't know what happened, this is really weird.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I would love to see power consumption also being addressed in the upcoming reviews. Hint: Does Power Play work out of the box or is driver support needed and will it be availiable in Catalyst and RadeonHD?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Problems with black screen gone, maybe there were some issues related to the Nvidia 7300GT I was running on before; I needed to uninstall the Ubuntu fglrx driver before installing the Ati latest one.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •