Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 76

Thread: Radeon R600 Tiling Patches Are Ready

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PuckPoltergeist View Post
    As soon as I replace the radeon_drv.so with the patched one, the screen gets diagonal distorted and I get the command stream errors. I don't even need to activate the ColorTiling2D option.
    I've downloaded the patch again and applied on top of 36c190671081967bac6fff48aaf66d67b639a48c to be sure, nothing got lost there. It applied cleanly (one trailing whitespace warning but I don't think this was responsible).
    What's your screen resolution ?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pixo View Post
    OK done some more testing.
    The problem seems to be only in 32bit
    I get the:
    [ 738.794944] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_depth:608 depth read bo too small (layer size 33423360, offset 0, max layer 1, bo size 11059200)
    [ 738.794947] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1889 invalid cmd stream
    [ 738.794949] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !

    In 64bit everithing works fine.
    Also if I disable CollorTiling2D 32bit works fine.
    Maybe there is something wrong inbetween 32bit libdrm and 64bit kernel.

    allquixotic can you tell if you run ST:Online on 32bit system or 64bit multilib?
    64-bit kernel, 32-bit wine supported by 32-bit libs (32-bit mesa, 32-bit libdrm) but a 64-bit Xorg server and 64-bit DDX.

    You guys who are having the problem should try another desktop manager to see if it's KDM

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    438

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allquixotic View Post
    64-bit kernel, 32-bit wine supported by 32-bit libs (32-bit mesa, 32-bit libdrm) but a 64-bit Xorg server and 64-bit DDX.

    You guys who are having the problem should try another desktop manager to see if it's KDM
    Works here with kdm/kwin (everything 64bit)

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm getting similar errors as PuckPoltergeist with a 6950 2GB with 1440x900 screen resolution.
    Similarly, all of the git versions are up to date and patched.

    These kinds of errors are with ColorTiling+ColorTiling2D set to off in xorg.conf:
    Code:
    [   14.397349] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_texture:728 texture bo too small (layer size 5529600, offset 0, max layer 1, depth 1, bo size 5324800) (1536 900)
    [   14.397351] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [   14.905432] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_cb:443 cb[0] bo too small (layer size 5554176, offset 0, max layer 1, bo size 5529600, slice 21695)
    [   14.905434] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_cb:447 problematic surf: (1536 904) (1 4 1 0 0 4 0)
    [   14.905435] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 462
    These are with either on:
    Code:
    [  142.928652] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_texture:728 texture bo too small (layer size 5529600, offset 0, max layer 1, depth 1, bo size 5324800) (1536 900)
    [  142.928654] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [  143.169816] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_surface_value_conv_check:329 invalid array mode 5
    [  143.169818] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 462
    [  143.169819] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [  143.235577] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_surface_value_conv_check:329 invalid array mode 5
    [  143.235578] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 819
    [  143.235580] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    It's impossible to get a working screen (for me) unless the DDX is reverted to a non-patched version.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm getting similar errors as PuckPoltergeist with a 6950 2GB with 1440x900 screen resolution.
    All of the relevant software are git master versions with the patches applied where applicable (now that mesa and xf86-video-ati are updated, that leaves kernel).

    These kinds of errors are with ColorTiling+ColorTiling2D set to off in xorg.conf:
    Code:
    [   14.397349] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_texture:728 texture bo too small (layer size 5529600, offset 0, max layer 1, depth 1, bo size 5324800) (1536 900)
    [   14.397351] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [   14.905432] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_cb:443 cb[0] bo too small (layer size 5554176, offset 0, max layer 1, bo size 5529600, slice 21695)
    [   14.905434] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_cb:447 problematic surf: (1536 904) (1 4 1 0 0 4 0)
    [   14.905435] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 462
    These are with either on:
    Code:
    [  142.928652] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_texture:728 texture bo too small (layer size 5529600, offset 0, max layer 1, depth 1, bo size 5324800) (1536 900)
    [  142.928654] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [  143.169816] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_surface_value_conv_check:329 invalid array mode 5
    [  143.169818] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 462
    [  143.169819] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    [  143.235577] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_surface_value_conv_check:329 invalid array mode 5
    [  143.235578] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:1918 invalid cmd stream 819
    [  143.235580] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    It's impossible to get a working screen (for me) unless the DDX is reverted to a non-patched version.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siride View Post
    My experience with the patches was not good. When no compositing manager was running, I got a blank screen, but with a working mouse cursor and keyboard (I was able to log in to KDE this way). Once the compositing manager was loaded, it was very slow, but this appears to be because dmesg was being spammed with command stream errors (which were themselves likely the reason for the slowness). I'm sure I may have misapplied a patch (none of the kernel patches applied cleanly to 3.3-rc2) or messed something else up. I'll just wait until these things are at least in git master.
    I got about the same problem. Black screen with working mouse in gdm or E17.

    Solution :
    1 - Unplug the second monitor.
    2 - Launch X, login
    3 - Plug second monitor
    4 - xrandr the second monitor
    5 - ???
    6 - Profit!

    My second monitor is VGA with a DVI adaptor, I don't know if it's related.

    Note : I get plenty of
    Code:
    [   95.902752] radeon 0000:01:00.0: r600_cs_track_validate_cb invalid tiling 5 for 0 (0x08110568)
    [   95.902754] radeon 0000:01:00.0: r600_packet3_check:1604 invalid cmd stream 856
    [   95.902755] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
    when I try to launch X with the two monitor. With the unpluging trick, I don't get any cs error.

  7. #37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glisse View Post
    What's your screen resolution ?
    native resolution: 1366x768 60.0

    other possible resolutions are:

    1280x720 59.9
    1152x768 59.8
    1024x768 59.9
    800x600 59.9
    848x480 59.7
    720x480 59.7
    640x480 59.4

    Will test, if any other works. At the moment I'm rebuilding drm, mesa and ddx from git.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    965

    Default

    Yay, it's in mesa master:
    Code:
    ../../../../src/gallium/winsys/radeon/drm/libradeonwinsys.a(radeon_drm_winsys.o): In function `radeon_winsys_destroy':
    radeon_drm_winsys.c:(.text+0xbc): undefined reference to `radeon_surface_manager_free'
    ../../../../src/gallium/winsys/radeon/drm/libradeonwinsys.a(radeon_drm_winsys.o): In function `radeon_drm_winsys_create':
    radeon_drm_winsys.c:(.text+0x3e9): undefined reference to `radeon_surface_manager_free'
    radeon_drm_winsys.c:(.text+0x572): undefined reference to `radeon_surface_manager_new'
    ../../../../src/gallium/winsys/radeon/drm/libradeonwinsys.a(radeon_drm_winsys.o): In function `radeon_drm_winsys_surface_best':
    radeon_drm_winsys.c:(.text+0x68): undefined reference to `radeon_surface_best'
    ../../../../src/gallium/winsys/radeon/drm/libradeonwinsys.a(radeon_drm_winsys.o): In function `radeon_drm_winsys_surface_init':
    radeon_drm_winsys.c:(.text+0x78): undefined reference to `radeon_surface_init'

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Everything except the kernel bits are merged into master, successfully built libdrm (230ec7d7bbf1e8a7e263d471b21afb08c28eba0c), mesa (938671397f6e88b68e77c93d6b440f9602950fbe) and xf86-video-ati (615033f2b5e3817e335e9d022fc9fdcf8ac8b11a), built a 3.2.5 kernel with latest drm and 0001-drm-radeon-*.patch, going to reboot.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Rebooted and everything still works as before, I don't see any difference (no performance difference, no obvious regression). How can I tell 2D tiling is working?

    Code:
    grep -i tili Xorg.0.log
    [    17.568] (**) RADEON(0): Option "ColorTiling" "1"
    [    17.568] (**) RADEON(0): Option "ColorTiling2D" "on"
    [    17.581] (II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling: enabled
    I also "(II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling: enabled" before 2D tiling, it seems to me that "ColorTiling2D" "on" is accepted so it's in use, I don't have any error/warnings in dmesg/X.log.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •