Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Pentium G620 vs Liano...

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Pentium G620 vs Liano...

    I need a really budget PC in order to replace my aged Athlon 64.
    I will run Linux and VM on that PC for common office work.
    My budget is no more than 200, and I really need Virtualization extensions and 8GB RAM. So, I believe that I have some very limited options:
    G620, A4 or used C2Duo E6700 as well as used Phenom II...

    What is your opinion on that?
    And I don't care too much about power consumption, but I do care about noise...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by s91066 View Post
    I need a really budget PC in order to replace my aged Athlon 64.
    I will run Linux and VM on that PC for common office work.
    My budget is no more than 200€, and I really need Virtualization extensions and 8GB RAM. So, I believe that I have some very limited options:
    G620, A4 or used C2Duo E6700 as well as used Phenom II...

    What is your opinion on that?
    And I don't care too much about power consumption, but I do care about noise...
    i3-2105(hd3000) 110€
    H61b3 all-solid-cap MB - 50€
    8gb ddr3 ram - 40€

    See here: http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...nux-hardware-)

    Or, used phenom II x6 - ~100€
    all-solid-cap mb - 50€ with IGP.

    Will eat energy like popcorn, but has enough power to accelerate any video by pure generic hardware.
    Last edited by crazycheese; 02-05-2012 at 10:01 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    i3-2105(hd3000) 110
    H61b3 all-solid-cap MB - 50
    8gb ddr3 ram - 40

    See here: http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...nux-hardware-)

    Or, used phenom II x6 - ~100
    all-solid-cap mb - 50 with IGP.

    Will eat energy like popcorn, but has enough power to accelerate any video by pure generic hardware.
    you can get the phenomII x6 for the same price new: AMD Phenom II X4 960T ~104 you can unlock this cpu to an x6.
    but i think your price for the mainboard is to low i don't find any good mainboard for this price.
    for amd you need at minimum 65 for a "AMD 970/SB950 " chipset based mainboard.


    a FM1 amd mainboard is cheaper (with all features) : http://geizhals.at/de/675628 51,80
    and you get a quatcore + Radeon HD 6530D http://geizhals.at/de/653207 for 76,99 a FM1 system also can handle 32gb ram.

    i think for your low bugged a AMD A-Series A6-3650 system is the best solution.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    you can get the phenomII x6 for the same price new: AMD Phenom II X4 960T ~104€ you can unlock this cpu to an x6.
    but i think your price for the mainboard is to low i don't find any good mainboard for this price.
    for amd you need at minimum 65€ for a "AMD 970/SB950 " chipset based mainboard.


    a FM1 amd mainboard is cheaper (with all features) : http://geizhals.at/de/675628 51,80
    and you get a quatcore + Radeon HD 6530D http://geizhals.at/de/653207 for 76,99€ a FM1 system also can handle 32gb ram.

    i think for your low bugged a AMD A-Series A6-3650 system is the best solution.
    MB: http://geizhals.at/de/623003 54€ at KMElektronik. This is retailer.
    CPU: http://geizhals.at/de/630279 116€ at KMElektronik.
    As you see, my prices are correct 1055 i3 is very very efficient dualcore, it is on paar to amd phenoms II x4.

    But, if you plan to game hard on linux, get phenom II x2, unlock two cores, buy used gtx260 sp 216 or gtx275 and have fun!
    Last edited by crazycheese; 02-05-2012 at 02:19 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    MB: http://geizhals.at/de/623003 54 at KMElektronik. This is retailer.
    he need much ram because of the virtual maschines and you calculate with only 2 ram slots?
    your main-board is just invalid! because you need 4 ram-slots!
    57 is the cheapest price for a main-board with 4 ram-slots and all-solid capacitors: http://geizhals.at/de/623000


    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    CPU: http://geizhals.at/de/630279 116 at KMElektronik.
    As you see, my prices are correct 1055 i3 is very very efficient dualcore,
    i prever the amd-llano solution its cheaper and a faster graphic card and a real quatcore cpu.

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    it is on paar to amd phenoms II x4.
    i don't think so. my Phenom II x4 B50 does 14 000 mibs in 7zip.

    show me your test result of your intel dualcore playtoy.

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    But, if you plan to game hard on linux, get phenom II x2, unlock two cores, buy used gtx260 sp 216 or gtx275 and have fun!
    i just don't understand the part with nvidia why supporting closed source?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    he need much ram because of the virtual maschines and you calculate with only 2 ram slots?
    your main-board is just invalid! because you need 4 ram-slots!
    Dunno, 8x2 are maximum possible, means 16 gigs of ram. Thats a limit.
    Of course with 4 you will support 32 gigs and more flexibility, like buying 2x4 now and 2x8 later.
    But its really not big deal. I dont think 2x are limitation.

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i prever the amd-llano solution its cheaper and a faster graphic card and a real quatcore cpu.
    Intel are faster than liano using opensource driver. Intel already has video acceleration. Intel has very FAST cores especially for single or dual threading. It has HT which is used good.
    Llano is basically athlon II x4 with improved memory controller and I happen to own and use athlon II x4 630 now. i3-2105 is 1/3 faster at minimum.

    The only areas it will loose as dual core are properly threaded applications, like video encoding. Every other case, i3 will come on paar or sometimes win; this includes all normal-day work, energy efficiency (or room for some overclocking).

    You told me opencl video acceleration is in the works once, so factor number one remains opensource speed. Currently intel hd3000 wins in opensource speed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i don't think so. my Phenom II x4 B50 does 14 000 mibs in 7zip. show me your test result of your intel dualcore playtoy.
    I dont 7zip every day, but we can compare once I get to that i3-2105 next week.
    You use phoronix suite for testing? Tell me about the software you got 14k from and we can compare.

    Again, I wont be making fun of "dualcore playtoy once", this thing is dualcore monster. It could come on paar to intel i5-750 which is quadcore...

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i just don't understand the part with nvidia why supporting closed source?
    This part is very easy, nvidia has best driver with best support of wine and linux native applications.
    If you get cheap prev-generation card for 60-70$ on internet, this would be 1/2 or 1/3 of performance current 400$ cards, but it would be very very competative - fps based.
    You do buy external discrete gpu for fps, dont you?

    AMD opensource is crap for high-end cards, even used. Featurewise - it is not at opengl3. And AMD does not care if you buy their cards for opensource.
    Same for nouveau.
    The only point where price-wise AMD might win is llano + fglrx, which will make him battle fglrx vs wine. If he manages to get it, this will be faster than intels HD3000, but slower than nvidia blob+prevgen discrete gpu and thats really worth 60$. Once opendrivers are done, or amd reviews their very crappy position on opensource and becomes interested in selling hardware, you could sell nvidia card again. 60$ are not much of a loose...

    I didnt say Im supporting closed source! I said used prev-gen nvidia+blob will give maximum fps as discrete solution, if he would need discrete GPU.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •