Page 11 of 20 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 195

Thread: Goodbye ATI

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bug77 View Post
    That's one of the biggest problems with Linux fanboys. You can't have 2% market share on desktops and act like the rest of the world doesn't exist because it's closed source.
    And any manufacturer should bend over backwards to support stuff people use.
    Linux fanboys? I'm a GNU/Linux user and i'm a free software advocate, microsoft isn't even in competition with GNU as the software that they produce is closed and therefore unethical

    so 'the rest of the world' is of no consequence to me and shouldn't be to anyone who understands the ethical development of software, this is not fanboy-ism

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    353

    Default

    fglrx works fine for me with my Radeon HD 2400 PRO AGP even with xvba as does my Radeon HD 4650 even with 'high end games'

    I've had many nvidia cards and used the nvidia blob with all of them and they worked pretty well too

    the problem ( as far as i can see ) is the difference between what AMD's idea of opengl is and what nvidia's idea of what opengl is.. I'm assuming this is why nvidia cards work better with wine as most of the wined3d development has been done using nvidia

    anyway i'm switching to the free AMD driver very soon as vdpau is close to working properly

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bug77 View Post
    What tech does AMD have that does what Optimus should do?
    it's called PowerXPress. It's supposed to work in Catalyst 12.1: Some Good News for AMD 6700M HD / Intel Owners

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    [list]
    Now to the bad stuff:


    [list][*]I lost my 1920x1080 framebuffer console. It seems that NVidia only supports up to 1280x1024 for the framebuffer?
    Check this out. It may still be possible to set a 1920x1080 framebuffer, but performance might be very low (something with nvidia not supporting high-res vesa modes natively or whatever).


    [*]Power management through "Powermizer" is way too aggressive. The card clocks down to 50Mhz (!!) when it's idle for a bit, but is not quick enough to clock the card back up again, resulting in jerky animations in the desktop. And sometimes it doesn't want to power-up again at all unless I run an OpenGL application. The way to fix that is by introducing custom Powermizer policies in xorg.conf, which is not very user friendly and looks like an annoying bug to me.
    That's by design and, sadly, there's no solution without increasing power consumption. Three workarounds: connect a second monitor (the lowest pm will be disabled), flash different clocks to the video bios or use a custom pm policy.

    Interestingly, Win7 works smoothly even on the lowest pm mode. More optimized drivers or more efficient compositor, maybe?

    [*]As mentioned above, VDPAU has a problem in windowed mode. Anyone knows what's going on with that?
    VDPAU tends to work ok, but it's always had some rough corners. This is one.

    I'd actually advise disabling it for windowed applications, provided your CPU is fast enough. It's great for fullscreen apps though.

    [*]Flash says it uses the GPU for decoding, but not for the actual rendering. Is there a way to tell Flash to use Xv/OpenGL/whatever to display the video?
    Not anymore, sorry.

    Flash uses pure software rendering as of 11.2, with no way to enable hardware rendering. Previous versions had a toggleable setting in /etc/adobe/mms.cfg

    (Edit: I've actually removed flash completely on my netbook, as its CPU can't handle software rendering. HTML5 video is significantly faster there!)

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    Check this out. It may still be possible to set a 1920x1080 framebuffer, but performance might be very low (something with nvidia not supporting high-res vesa modes natively or whatever).
    "hwinfo --framebuffer" segfaults. Can someone with a GTX 500 series card could run this and post the output here?

  6. #106
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,295

    Default

    This is a GTX 570.

    Code:
    02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
      [Created at bios.464]
      Unique ID: rdCR.eZY0VDzmRI8
      Hardware Class: framebuffer
      Model: "NVIDIA GF110 Board - 12610005"
      Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
      Device: "GF110 Board - 12610005"
      SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
      SubDevice: 
      Revision: "Chip Rev"
      Memory Size: 14 MB
      Memory Range: 0xef000000-0xefdfffff (rw)
      Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
      Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
      Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
      Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits
      Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0345: 1600x1200 (+1600), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0346: 1600x1200 (+3200), 16 bits
      Mode 0x034a: 1600x1200 (+6400), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0360: 1280x800 (+1280), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0361: 1280x800 (+5120), 24 bits
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    Flash uses pure software rendering as of 11.2, with no way to enable hardware rendering. Previous versions had a toggleable setting in /etc/adobe/mms.cfg

    (Edit: I've actually removed flash completely on my netbook, as its CPU can't handle software rendering. HTML5 video is significantly faster there!)
    i do the same and my system is a quatcore 3,8ghz...

    flash is more a disease...

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    @BlackStar

    In my own tests: flash 11.2 (beta) has got acc rendering and decode, but 11.1 does only use acc decode. Are you really sure you talk about 11.2? But i do not really like acc rendering as this results in some "bad" lines at the button of a video, i prefer usually 11.1. On win you have got always acc rendering+decode (you can disable both but not one of it) and the same rendering problems - using dxva2 on ati as well i think. Best is to watch some of the 1080p movies like elephants dream or sintel and look at the lowest 16 lines or so.

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnc View Post
    This is a GTX 570.

    Code:
    02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
      [Created at bios.464]
      Unique ID: rdCR.eZY0VDzmRI8
      Hardware Class: framebuffer
      Model: "NVIDIA GF110 Board - 12610005"
      Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
      Device: "GF110 Board - 12610005"
      SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
      SubDevice: 
      Revision: "Chip Rev"
      Memory Size: 14 MB
      Memory Range: 0xef000000-0xefdfffff (rw)
      Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
      Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
      Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
      Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits
      Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits
      Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0345: 1600x1200 (+1600), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0346: 1600x1200 (+3200), 16 bits
      Mode 0x034a: 1600x1200 (+6400), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0360: 1280x800 (+1280), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0361: 1280x800 (+5120), 24 bits
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Thanks. I've now got hwinfo to work here too (I manually updated to version 19.0; Gentoo only provides an outdated 18.5 version which segfaults.) The highest mode it prints here on the 560 Ti is 1280x1024. So I'm out of luck I guess.
    Last edited by RealNC; 02-12-2012 at 12:52 PM.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    @BlackStar

    In my own tests: flash 11.2 (beta) has got acc rendering and decode, but 11.1 does only use acc decode. Are you really sure you talk about 11.2? But i do not really like acc rendering as this results in some "bad" lines at the button of a video, i prefer usually 11.1.
    I just tried 11.2 (didn't know about this beta, I was using 11.1). Accelerated rendering works and there's no tearing in fullscreen, but the colors are wrong. For example in this video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Py_IndUbcxc

    The faces of people are blue and look like smurfs. Disabling "hardware acceleration" in Flash fixes this, but then of course there's tearing again in fullscreen.

    Hopefully Adobe will fix this, since this Flash version looks very promising. But the Adobe devs are morons, so don't get your hopes up. There is a bug about it:

    https://bugbase.adobe.com/index.cfm?...bug&id=3077076

    But as always, the Adobe devs close Linux bugs as WORKSFORMESOSCREWYOUGOUSEWINDOWS.
    Last edited by RealNC; 02-12-2012 at 01:08 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •