Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: A Pleasant Surprise In Mesa 8.1 Radeon Gallium3D

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,625

    Default A Pleasant Surprise In Mesa 8.1 Radeon Gallium3D

    Phoronix: A Pleasant Surprise In Mesa 8.1 Radeon Gallium3D

    When running some tests on the latest Mesa 8.1-devel Gallium3D code-base for the "R600" Radeon Gallium3D driver, I was surprised by some of the results...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTA2MTA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Skopje, MK
    Posts
    48

    Default Needs more windows(wine) games tests.

    Needs more windows(wine) games tests. Now that would be a surprise. Been hoping for it for quite some time now. Using Mesa 7.9 on x1300 mobility, WoW runs. Using mesa 8.0 on Evergreen hardware (Juniper), it doesn't.

    Since wine is doing better with every release, and games start working more and more (Skyrim, Crysis 2, Dragonage 2, albeit using blobs), we should see how Mesa handles windows games.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,045

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dekomote View Post
    Skyrim, Crysis 2, Dragonage 2, albeit using blobs
    Why? Skyrim renders extremely well on Open Source radeon. The frame rate seems not to be jumpy, but it is still very low. But on low settings it actually is starting to get playable: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LDAd_oFzgU
    There are also videos of Crysis 2 on Open Source radeon that don't look that bad: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ_T_xepfW8

    It would be nice if those games could be benchmarked by the phoronix testsuite but I guess they would need free to play demos with FPS measurement for that...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Skopje, MK
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    Why? Skyrim renders extremely well on Open Source radeon. The frame rate seems not to be jumpy, but it is still very low. But on low settings it actually is starting to get playable: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LDAd_oFzgU
    There are also videos of Crysis 2 on Open Source radeon that don't look that bad: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ_T_xepfW8
    Well, Just yesterday I tested out Mesa 8.0 on Arch with 3.2.7 kernel, HD6770, i3-2120, it didn't work. Anything i'm missing out?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    575

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dekomote View Post
    Well, Just yesterday I tested out Mesa 8.0 on Arch with 3.2.7 kernel, HD6770, i3-2120, it didn't work. Anything i'm missing out?
    A detailed bug report :-P

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Skopje, MK
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FireBurn View Post
    A detailed bug report :-P
    Don't tease me. I lost half my day yesterday testing out mesa 8.0 Anyway, at least for Wow, the same error that was prior mesa 8.0 is here as well (at least on evergreen hardware). I only need Wow to work... (not for me. for my wife :|)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,045

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dekomote View Post
    Well, Just yesterday I tested out Mesa 8.0 on Arch with 3.2.7 kernel, HD6770, i3-2120, it didn't work. Anything i'm missing out?
    Skyrim? Well, the 6550M is actually a renamed HD 5650M and thus Redwood. I don't have any Cayman card to compare. But my suggestion would be running your stuff with
    Code:
    LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose WINEDEBUG=-all wine foobar.exe
    This should hide all the wine debug output (which also should make wine a little bit faster) and also display whether your 32 bit mesa is actually used.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Skopje, MK
    Posts
    48

    Default Update on the Wow thing

    So, funny story. I was tricked into testing again, but this time, I didn't use the mesa bundled with Arch, yet an unofficial repository with mesa-git. Wow runs with 30FPS on Ultra quality on an HD6770. Apparently the bug is in Arch packages, not mesa itself.

    Thanks for the push, guys!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,045

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    Why? Skyrim renders extremely well on Open Source radeon. The frame rate seems not to be jumpy, but it is still very low. But on low settings it actually is starting to get playable: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LDAd_oFzgU
    There's a new video with 800x600 instead of 1600x900: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_TDriMsCZk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dekomote View Post
    Needs more windows(wine) games tests. Now that would be a surprise. Been hoping for it for quite some time now. Using Mesa 7.9 on x1300 mobility, WoW runs. Using mesa 8.0 on Evergreen hardware (Juniper), it doesn't.

    Since wine is doing better with every release, and games start working more and more (Skyrim, Crysis 2, Dragonage 2, albeit using blobs), we should see how Mesa handles windows games.
    I have played WoW on Evergreen, and Fallout 3, Bioshock, Crysis etc. If it doesn't work for you it's either a regression or possibly something hardware specific (I'm using Redwood not Juniper).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •