Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Beta 1 Released

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,678

    Default Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Beta 1 Released

    Phoronix: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Beta 1 Released

    Arriving just days after the first alpha release of the Beefy Miracle, the beta was published today for the upcoming "Precise Pangolin" operating system, a.k.a. Ubuntu 12.04 LTS...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTA2NDc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Afaik Precise Beta ships the final release of LibreOffice 3.5, not the beta one, since 3.5 has been officially released quite a while ago.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    I've been running Precise Alpha 2 on my AMD Fusion (more specifically, A8-3850) HTPC for a bit. The only substantial gripe I have -- considering that it's been alpha -- is that HDMI audio doesn't seem to work with the open-source driver (and due to the blender of AMD model numbers vs. codenames, I'm not sure whether it should or not).

    That, and I don't really care for Unity. But if Alt+F2 works, I don't obsess too much over the GUI concept since I'm mostly running XBMC.

    So I guess what I'm saying is "Ubuntu 12.04 might not be a manifest disaster". Does that qualify as damning with faint praise?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ex-Cyber View Post
    I've been running Precise Alpha 2 on my AMD Fusion (more specifically, A8-3850) HTPC for a bit. The only substantial gripe I have -- considering that it's been alpha -- is that HDMI audio doesn't seem to work with the open-source driver (and due to the blender of AMD model numbers vs. codenames, I'm not sure whether it should or not).
    Since kernel 3.0 HDMI is disabled by default. Some people seem to experience "blank screens" with it...

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/864735
    tl;dr: You need to load the radeon module with "radeon.audio=1".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    Since kernel 3.0 HDMI is disabled by default. Some people seem to experience "blank screens" with it...

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/864735
    tl;dr: You need to load the radeon module with "radeon.audio=1".
    I already did that, and still got no audio. Judging from the forum threads I've found about it, this is the standard experience with Fusion systems (followed immediately by installing Catalyst or switching to a non-HDMI audio output).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    884

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ex-Cyber View Post
    I already did that, and still got no audio. Judging from the forum threads I've found about it, this is the standard experience with Fusion systems (followed immediately by installing Catalyst or switching to a non-HDMI audio output).
    We'll see how it works on mine as well... I've got an A6-3xxx at home in my HTPC, and I've been using analog audio + OSS driver because my HDMI wasn't outputting anything. I'll try the kernel parameter sometime this weekend and see if it helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    39

    Default My next Ubuntu 12.4 is Open Suse 12.1

    I happend to have been a Kubuntu user for a long time, but since Kubuntu is going away after 12.4 I decided to switch to OpenSuse 12.1. Other then a little bit of a learning curve with the rpm package system it uses (yum), I am very happy with it

    If Ubuntu ever reaches its aspirations of being a first rate phone/tablet/tv I may give it a try in one of these products. But for now I need Linux Desktop computing, which is some thng Ubuntu really just isn't interested in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Are we real?
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkCloud View Post
    I happend to have been a Kubuntu user for a long time, but since Kubuntu is going away after 12.4 I decided to switch to OpenSuse 12.1.
    You are the kind of person that only spreads FUD. Kubuntu is not going away.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Canonical is dropping financial support for Kubuntu, that is all. They're not actively stopping development. Afaik they only had one paid developer working on Kubuntu anyway, so it's not like they're removing a huge amount of manpower.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siban View Post
    You are the kind of person that only spreads FUD. Kubuntu is not going away.
    That's true and Kubuntu 12.04 will have long term support. There's a chance it will become even better now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •