Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: ET: Quake Wars v1.4 Coming Soon

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by janl View Post
    I just reinstalled QW under Linux the other day. There are 2 installers. There's a 'full' installer which will copy all of the data from the DVD. There is also a smaller 'nomedia' installer which requires you to copy the data from an existing Windows install.
    Exactly. But the v1.4 Release Candidate is only awaible as a nomedia update currently. The full v1.4 update will have, like the v1.2 update now already has, an option to install from the DVD.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    99

    Default

    The installer will even copy from a mounted ISO file now.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Does it do that with ET:QW now? When installing the v1.4 RC I don't remember seeing such an option. I personally always have just stored the base files on a USB hard drive, and then manually transfer all of them over for the different test systems instead of messing with the CD/DVDs.

    I do the same thing as it is very convenient. No having to locate a disk to install and no worrying if it becomes unreadable. However, I created an ISO for Quake Wars so I could easily install under Windows and Linux this time around, and I was surprised when the installer found the mounted ISO and copied the files from it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    73

    Default

    ET:QW seems to be CPU limited under windows on my AMD Athlon 64 4200+, both cores run at 85%+ usage. I'll be interested in how it runs on Linux, it might be a big problem if it doesn't use the dual cores properly but if it runs a lot better then theres something fishy about the windows version. I'll be able to test for myself once fglrx work for me.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,159

    Default

    Update v1.4 has been delayed until January due to some bugs, one of them being ATI related.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Even with just one core working under Linux, I get almost the same performance under Linux as I do Windows. The difference is like 1-3 FPS in either direction. So I wonder if the extra core will even make a difference. Oh and each core I have is 2.8 GHz.

  7. #17

    Default

    Quake 4 v1.4 will contain a new threaded renderer that will boost quad-core gaming performance (while ET:QW has already been SMP friendly, these are some additional improvements for systems with more than two cores).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •