Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: VMware's Linux 3D Guest Driver Is Ready

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frantaylor View Post
    Can you try it with other sound hardware? There might be a bug in your sound driver.
    Nah, same happens with the sound disabled.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allquixotic View Post
    +1. I can reproduce this on a Windows host and a Linux guest. Getting EXACTLY this behavior, audio and all.
    Weird. The host here is Linux, not Windows. And it happens with all guests: Linux, Windows and Mac OS X.

    Do you have a support agreement with VMware?
    I doubt it. Unless they accept support requests for Player.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Weird. The host here is Linux, not Windows. And it happens with all guests: Linux, Windows and Mac OS X.


    I doubt it. Unless they accept support requests for Player.
    Okay, so:

    -We're using completely different host operating systems
    -We're using completely different guest operating systems
    -You're using Player, and I'm using Workstation

    and we still have the same problem!

    Surprised that nobody else here has experienced it?!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Player uses the same virtualization engine as Workstation, so that's not really a difference. Workstation is pretty much just a different GUI with more options.

    Does the problem occur in your case when there's I/O in the host, or in the guest? For example, does it happen when you copy a directory containing many files in the host? Or only when you do the same in the guest?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Player uses the same virtualization engine as Workstation, so that's not really a difference. Workstation is pretty much just a different GUI with more options.

    Does the problem occur in your case when there's I/O in the host, or in the guest? For example, does it happen when you copy a directory containing many files in the host? Or only when you do the same in the guest?
    Host, because if I just start Rhythmbox playing a song in the guest and forget about the guest completely and do stuff in the host, I get the sound chopping out at an extremely fast rate (the dropouts are only about ~10 - 20 ms each, if that).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allquixotic View Post
    -We're using completely different host operating systems
    -We're using completely different guest operating systems
    -You're using Player, and I'm using Workstation
    As already specified by others, compare hardware. It could well be a problem with a peripheral, or the CPU's virtualization features, or something.

    Also, compare guest machine configurations. There's a lot of options that could potentially have a very meaningful impact on some hardware. Number of cores, choice of emulated hardware, CPU virtualization configuration, etc.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    As already specified by others, compare hardware. It could well be a problem with a peripheral, or the CPU's virtualization features, or something.

    Also, compare guest machine configurations. There's a lot of options that could potentially have a very meaningful impact on some hardware. Number of cores, choice of emulated hardware, CPU virtualization configuration, etc.
    OK.

    Physical:
    CPU: Core i7 920 (original Nehalem, quad core, HT)
    Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe
    RAM: 16GB dual channel DDR3 1600
    GPU: Radeon HD7970
    Audio: Sennheiser USB 2.0 headset
    Physical monitor config:
    2011 model Panasonic 1920x1080 HDTV connected by native HDMI 1.4a (no cable adaptors between monitor and GPU)
    2008 model commodity Dell 1680x1050 LCD connected by DVI converted to Mini-DisplayPort (uses DVI on the monitor end, plugs into Mini-DP on the video card)
    2004 model commodity Dell 1920x1200 LCD connected by DVI converted to Mini-DisplayPort (same connectors as other LCD)

    Guest config:
    OS: Linux Mint 12 with Cinnamon desktop
    Memory: 4GB (even with this I still have 4 to 8GB of completely unused RAM on the host)
    CPU: 1 x 4-core CPU
    "Virtualization Engine": Default setting of "Automatic" with the "Virtualize Intel VT-x/EPT" setting unchecked
    HDD: 200 GB SCSI virtual disk residing on a separate physical HDD than the host operating system HDD, but mapped as a file on an NTFS filesystem
    Monitor config: "Dedicated" full screen on a 1680x1050 LCD (Host OS programs configured not to start on second monitor so it's always just VMware on that monitor)
    Graphics: "Accelerate 3d Graphics" checked
    Kernel: 3.3 rc7-precise from Ubuntu Mainline Kernel Builds
    DDX: Latest VMware stable driver release, hand-compiled
    Mesa: From Xorg Edgers repository; it's "pretty recent" from git
    OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on SVGA3D; build: RELEASE;
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.1

    3d graphics performance in the guest is actually quite impressive -- for a virtualization solution. I really can't complain because it's light-years more stable and more usable than anything we've ever had before, as far as VMs go.

    Only problem that remains is the seemingly random micro-lags within the guest, where the entire guest will hang for extremely short periods of time whenever the host does something "interesting", which can be triggered by something as trivial as playing a youtube video on the host. These events are unpredictable to the point that they sometimes happen when I'm doing absolutely nothing except playing an audio stream on the guest; I'm guessing some background service on the host is causing disk I/O when this occurs.

    But... but... if RealNC gets the same problem with a *Linux* host, it can't be the Windows host! He says he even gets this problem with Linux guest Linux host, so Windows is totally out of the picture.

    So I'm confused.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    I use:

    CPU: Intel i5 2500K
    Mobo: MSI MSI P67A-C43 B3
    RAM: 12GB (8GB 1666 + 4GB 1333, both running at 1333)
    HD: Western Digital WD5000AAKS-00V1A0
    FS: EXT4 (and disabling barriers doesn't help)
    Audio: Asus Xonar D1 (PCI)
    GPU: GTX 560 Ti
    Only one monitor connected through DVI-D at 1920x1080

    To the guests I give 2GB RAM and an 8GB HD. 3D disabled/enabled doesn't matter.

    Might be CPU related. A while ago when I was using a Core 2 Duo, I/O blocking wasn't that bad. But I was using older software too then, so I can't be sure.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    I use:

    CPU: Intel i5 2500K
    Mobo: MSI MSI P67A-C43 B3
    RAM: 12GB (8GB 1666 + 4GB 1333, both running at 1333)
    HD: Western Digital WD5000AAKS-00V1A0
    FS: EXT4 (and disabling barriers doesn't help)
    Audio: Asus Xonar D1 (PCI)
    GPU: GTX 560 Ti
    Only one monitor connected through DVI-D at 1920x1080

    To the guests I give 2GB RAM and an 8GB HD. 3D disabled/enabled doesn't matter.

    Might be CPU related. A while ago when I was using a Core 2 Duo, I/O blocking wasn't that bad. But I was using older software too then, so I can't be sure.
    Our configuration is very dissimilar. Except: how many cores are you assigning to the guest?

    I'm gonna try something later on, and start with 1 core, test, and increment the cores to 2, then 4 then 8 and see if the behavior changes. It may have something to do with the virtual IOAPIC, which is required if you have greater than one core.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    You have a RAID setup, I only have one disk. You use an old kernel, I use 3.2.
    He's using Linux 3.1

    The version reported in Fedora 15 is 2.6.41 so that they don't have to make patches for everything that expects that kind of versioning.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •