Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54

Thread: Whoops, There's A Big Problem For Wayland GTK+

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    78

    Default

    If I'm reading this correctly, they're loading libGL into every application linked against GTK+ whether it uses OpenGL or not. Why can't they just call dlopen on it when they decide they need it?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    And how old is this statement? One or two years?
    Well until they reissue another statement we'll have to assume that they haven't changed their mind. That said if there's a massive shift towards Wayland then NVidia will reassess the situation, their Linux customers are likely mainly in the 3D/SFX market and if these companies wants to start running Wayland on their workstations NVidia will oblige I'm sure. Thankfully the great work by the nouveau devs is making this into less of a problem.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    348

    Default

    wayland needs kms? do people realize that kms is broken for millions of computers worldwide. many times I had to do the nomodeset thingie in grub.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,763

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garegin View Post
    wayland needs kms? do people realize that kms is broken for millions of computers worldwide. many times I had to do the nomodeset thingie in grub.
    Well, Wayland is probably the future, but not the present. The whole stack gets better over time.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    348

    Default

    i've reported it to almost every linux forum, including this. kms is broken on many macs including the mac mini and macbook air. this is a known bug.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asdx View Post
    And what have you done to help with that? Have you tried reporting bugs?

    I never had problems with KMS, what driver/GPU were you using?
    Idem. The only problem I had with KMS was in my Unichrome box, because it's not ready yet.

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garegin View Post
    i've reported it to almost every linux forum, including this. kms is broken on many macs including the mac mini and macbook air. this is a known bug.
    So, it seems you're using broken hardware. I never had any problems with KMS on my PC.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garegin View Post
    i've reported it to almost every linux forum, including this. kms is broken on many macs including the mac mini and macbook air. this is a known bug.
    That's not reporting a bug. You report it to bugzilla (or any other bug filing framework kernel devs use) or to their mailing list. Not all devs are in forums, you know?

    This can help you. I didn't read it yet because I've never found a mainstream bug (well, as a matter of fact, I've found a few, but they were already reported and fixed when I did figured out they were kernel bugs), and the ones with Openchrome were reported directly to their devlist.

    EDIT: Whoops, forgot to put the link http://kernelnewbies.org/FoundBug.

  9. #29

    Default

    http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ch/002650.html

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    In general, KMS in the blobs doesn't sound impossible. They would need glue in form of a kernel module with the actual functionality being provided by the blob.
    Quote Originally Posted by Serafean View Post
    KMS won't be easy for nvidia to implement in their binary blob (anyone remember the mess when OSS drivers became KMS enabled?). Another hard requirement for Wayland is EGL support, which I don't know if the binary blobs support.
    Really? nVidia already support EGL and KMS in proprietary driver for Tegra. AMD already support EGL in driver for embedded hardware.
    EGL is not strict dependecy for Wayland by the way (check Wayland FAQ).

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asdx View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by garegin View Post
    i've reported it to almost every linux forum, including this. kms is broken on many macs including the mac mini and macbook air. this is a known bug.
    So file a bug if there isn't one already.
    Actually there are several bugs already, just search https://bugs.freedesktop.org/.

    One of the more notorious ones: Radeon KMS on Macs with EFI boot. The workaround is to modify the kernel with a patch that was rejected by the radeon developers, and make it load the VGA BIOS from a dump you created in bootcamp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •