Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Linux Version Of Civilization: Beyond Earth Still Coming Along

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,423

    Default Linux Version Of Civilization: Beyond Earth Still Coming Along

    Phoronix: Linux Version Of Civilization: Beyond Earth Still Coming Along

    The Linux version of Civilization: Beyond Earth is still in the process of being ported to Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTg0NDU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toulouse (France)
    Posts
    43

    Default What OpenGL support needed ?

    I've read that Civ BE graphical engine is the same as Civ5, except it is DirectX 11 only. Does it mean we will need OpenGL 4 support under Linux to play ?
    In this case, I suppose I won't be able to play using the OSS radeon driver anymore....
    But it might help Aspyr to provide OpenGL 4 support to Civ5... bringing then tessalation effect as on DirectX 11 version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jery View Post
    I've read that Civ BE graphical engine is the same as Civ5, except it is DirectX 11 only. Does it mean we will need OpenGL 4 support under Linux to play ?
    In this case, I suppose I won't be able to play using the OSS radeon driver anymore....
    But it might help Aspyr to provide OpenGL 4 support to Civ5... bringing then tessalation effect as on DirectX 11 version.
    don't panic, radeon will gain support in 3 months. you can play in some other games for now

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jery View Post
    I've read that Civ BE graphical engine is the same as Civ5, except it is DirectX 11 only. Does it mean we will need OpenGL 4 support under Linux to play ?
    In this case, I suppose I won't be able to play using the OSS radeon driver anymore....
    But it might help Aspyr to provide OpenGL 4 support to Civ5... bringing then tessalation effect as on DirectX 11 version.
    In the system requirements it says you can play it with an Iris Pro on linux and AFAIK intels drivers use mesa which, again AFAIK, is capped at opegl 3.3 across GPUs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,238

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jery View Post
    I've read that Civ BE graphical engine is the same as Civ5, except it is DirectX 11 only. Does it mean we will need OpenGL 4 support under Linux to play ?
    In this case, I suppose I won't be able to play using the OSS radeon driver anymore....
    But it might help Aspyr to provide OpenGL 4 support to Civ5... bringing then tessalation effect as on DirectX 11 version.
    Probably will need some new features i guess, i see so much in steam user reviews about Windows version till now, so it must be broken for us too or at least i expect something like beta quality at first .

    BTW, who is that developer which has perfect game at launch day
    Last edited by dungeon; 11-20-2014 at 11:35 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    Probably will need some new features i guess, i see so much in steam user reviews about Windows version till now, so it must be broken for us too or at least i expect something like beta quality at first .

    BTW, who is that developer which has perfect game at launch day
    Actually the game is not broken on Windows, it actually run better then Civ 5 for me (less time spent on AI turn and better frame rate in late game). It just that people find it is too similar to Civ 5 and like previous civ game, it got less content then the previous iteration with all its expansions.
    Last edited by iniudan; 11-21-2014 at 12:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    OK, new Civ is comming to Linux, but what about Darksiders and Van Helsing? Their release was "imminent" a few months ago and then nothing...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    424

    Default

    Damn it! Now I have to buy one more game...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    192

    Default

    How hard can it be? It is basically just a mod for Civ5! Why are they starting over from scratch instead of just importing the new resources?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carewolf View Post
    How hard can it be? It is basically just a mod for Civ5! Why are they starting over from scratch instead of just importing the new resources?
    Maybe you should contact them and let them know about the deep knowledge you have about porting the DirectX 11 engine of Civ 5 to OpenGL, I am sure they will appreciate your help and maybe even offer you a job. Maybe start with reading their blog about the porting effort and address the problems they describe.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •