Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: test for fixing resolution problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default test for fixing resolution problems

    i have seen around some xorg logs and have seen that the driver doesn't read modelines. then a gentoo user has found out that modifying 3 things in his kernel config has made the driver read once again the modelines. i've diffed the its settings and seen that on my config (modeline scan works for me fine) they were present. the settings are the following:

    CONFIG_PCI_MSI=y
    CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS=y
    CONFIG_ACPI_PROC_EVENT=y

    i suggest to the users that are having problems with the resolution to try out this settings and also to start the atieventsd service before starting xorg and see what happens.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    atieventsd has been started for me (Ubuntu gutsy) and it doesn't help. The problem doesn't seem to be that it's not reading the modelines; the problem seems to be that it's failing to set it...

    (EE) fglrx(0): === [swlDalHelperAddCustomizeMode] === CWDDEDI_DisplayGetSetModeTimingOverride failed: 2

    After putting in this modeline:
    Modeline "1440x900" 88.75 1440 1488 1520 1600 900 903 909 926 +hsync +vsync

    Based on this information:
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 88.8 MHz Image Size: 331 x 207 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1440 h_sync: 1488 h_sync_end 1520 h_blank_end 1600 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 900 v_sync: 903 v_sync_end 909 v_blanking: 926 v_border: 0

    And:
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1280x720": 88.8 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 55.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x720" 88.75 1280 1488 1520 1600 720 903 909 926 +hsync +vsync

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sastraxi View Post
    atieventsd has been started for me (Ubuntu gutsy) and it doesn't help. The problem doesn't seem to be that it's not reading the modelines; the problem seems to be that it's failing to set it...

    (EE) fglrx(0): === [swlDalHelperAddCustomizeMode] === CWDDEDI_DisplayGetSetModeTimingOverride failed: 2

    After putting in this modeline:
    Modeline "1440x900" 88.75 1440 1488 1520 1600 900 903 909 926 +hsync +vsync

    Based on this information:
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 88.8 MHz Image Size: 331 x 207 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1440 h_sync: 1488 h_sync_end 1520 h_blank_end 1600 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 900 v_sync: 903 v_sync_end 909 v_blanking: 926 v_border: 0

    And:
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1280x720": 88.8 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 55.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1280x720" 88.75 1280 1488 1520 1600 720 903 909 926 +hsync +vsync


    i use modes not Modeline. here an example:

    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x800" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection
    on my board these are read and the best is set. with only the resolution specified fglrx assigns the refresh as read from the edid data. make another try with modes like mine and see what happens.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    53

    Default

    it is not working for me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    so that's not the problem as it seems... i've tried to help out but it seems it doesn't work. sorry.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    while browsing again through the documented options of fglrx for xorg.conf it happened to find this one:

    Option "IgnoreEDID" "boolean"
    Do not use EDID data for mode validation, but DDC is still used for monitor detection. This is different from Option "NoDDC". The default is: "off".
    If the server is ignoring your modlines, set this option to "on" and try again.
    well, i think it might be good to give it a try and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    53

    Default

    with

    Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"

    in my device section, I still get this in Xorg.log

    (WW) fglrx(0): Option "IgnoreEDID" is not used

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mile View Post
    with

    Option "IgnoreEDID" "on"

    in my device section, I still get this in Xorg.log

    (WW) fglrx(0): Option "IgnoreEDID" is not used
    try putting that and
    Option "NoDDC" "on"
    as the first 2 options in the device section.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    53

    Default

    it is same

    I found this in log

    (EE) fglrx(0): === [swlDalHelperAddCustomizeMode] === CWDDEDI_DisplayGetSetModeTimingOverride failed: 2

    (==) fglrx(0): Qbs is not supported in this release. Disabled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mile View Post
    it is same

    I found this in log

    (EE) fglrx(0): === [swlDalHelperAddCustomizeMode] === CWDDEDI_DisplayGetSetModeTimingOverride failed: 2

    (==) fglrx(0): Qbs is not supported in this release. Disabled.
    the qbs stuff is not to be worried about.
    googling about the error seems to point to a bug that has been marked as resolved in 8.34.
    maybe there was a little regression in the code that brought out the preinitdal and this bug again and the devs have decided to mask it by removing support for some modelines... when the release notes tell that modelines could not be read there is surely something behind this.
    mine is only a guess but these 2 bugs were fixed about that release and now similar things come out after installing. maybe it's not a fortunate coincidence.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •