Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Current status of VDPAU on r600g?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Panix View Post
    Well, I am talking to someone about buying a GTX 460 1gb card (used, of course) or buying a GT210 or GT540 so I'm just comparing cards right now and assessing finances.

    I read that's it's a PITA to try ATI cards with VDPAU.
    Well, from the cards you're mentioning, I wouldn't recommend the GT210. It's old and its performance sometimes is even lower than current intel HD3000 IGPs. The used GTX460 seems a very attractive offer, if the card is in good conditions, and the best option of the 3 you mentioned. The GT540 is a great card for HTPC / light gaming.

    I think you should give a look at Tom's Hardware VGA Charts...

    Cheers

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Execute_Method View Post
    There is a package in AUR "mesa-r600g-git" with vdpau enabled.

    I have also installed:
    libvdpau
    vdpau-video
    lib32-libvdpau

    You will need to export:

    VDPAU_DRIVER=r600


    It's been working well for me for some months, but I don't watch a great deal of videos anyway.
    To DanL and Execute_Method: Thanks for your help... after installing mesa-r600g-git + xf86-video-ati-git from AUR and creating a script on /etc/profile.d I was able to use vdpau on my HD4650 AGP card. Furthermore, this is the first time my card also works with dynpm ... As such, I'll stick to the FOSS drivers. It's unfortunate that vdpau on r600g still doesn't support H.264, so I can't watch 1080p H.264 videos on my P4 desktop (720p works well btw) ... I think that should've been a top priority in FOSS radeon driver development...

    Cheers

  3. #13

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RussianNeuroMancer View Post
    one little dirty secret is this UVD work is only for HD5000+

    they already drop any support for the UVD1 unit

    more realistic is UVD3+

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    one little dirty secret is this UVD work is only for HD5000+

    they already drop any support for the UVD1 unit

    more realistic is UVD3+

    It is not an secret. You has only to ask.

  6. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    It is not an secret. You has only to ask.
    But conspiracies are so much more fun!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    It is not an secret. You has only to ask.
    LOL i know this i just write this to make it more tasteful.

    its not a secret this means hd2000-hd4000 users are fucked they will not get any UVD support.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousCoward View Post
    But conspiracies are so much more fun!
    anyway hd2000-hd4000 users are fucked and will not get UVD support.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Toruń, Poland
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    anyway hd2000-hd4000 users are fucked and will not get UVD support.
    You just got added to another "Ignore List". Congratulations on achieving that!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hirager View Post
    You just got added to another "Ignore List". Congratulations on achieving that!
    lol just because the hd2000-hd4000 will not get UVD support? they work on UVD3 or newer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •