Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Mozilla Firefox 13 Does Some Redesigning

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TobiSGD View Post
    OK, that may be reasonable. But for convenience I just put links I don't use every time into my bookmark bar, so that I can open them with one click, without having them in the way as tabs.
    Be assured, the type of user I am, I'm very well aware of the convenience of bookmarks (I reach for bookmarks in two ways: from a TagSieve (bookmark) sidebar and by simply using the Awesomebar) but sometimes leaving something opened in the background is more convenient and easier for me to remember it's something I need to get to without the need to organize it in bookmarks.

    Quote Originally Posted by TobiSGD View Post
    Right-click on a tab, choose bookmark all tabs, problem solved. No need for this new functionality here, I would think. But to each his own, if you find it useful then use it. I personally think that it doesn't make much sense.
    That's one of the things I sometimes do as well, but bookmarking all tabs saves just their URLs, not tab history to begin with. So sometimes it's not enough and again, it makes perfect sense to have this kind of feature for some of us.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,247

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TobiSGD View Post
    OK, that may be reasonable. But for convenience I just put links I don't use every time into my bookmark bar, so that I can open them with one click, without having them in the way as tabs.

    Right-click on a tab, choose bookmark all tabs, problem solved. No need for this new functionality here, I would think. But to each his own, if you find it useful then use it. I personally think that it doesn't make much sense.
    I've been using this functionality for years (well, without the load tabs on demand feature), and it's probably the #1 reason I haven't switched away from Firefox to Chrome or another browser.

    I could certainly adjust my workflow to use bookmarks instead, but i find this much more convenient.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    I read this article and was like 'firefox 13, wtf?!?? that's been out forever... then i remembered that i run firefox-nightly. (firefox 15a1) lol.

    Does anyone know if firefox 13 has the new animated download button? i can't remember when they implemented that, but i know i was happy to see it. it's indicator (when you start downloads) looks good. You also don't get the old downloads box, and don't need to install a plugin to get rid of it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    819

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TobiSGD View Post
    OK, that may be reasonable. But for convenience I just put links I don't use every time into my bookmark bar, so that I can open them with one click, without having them in the way as tabs.

    Right-click on a tab, choose bookmark all tabs, problem solved. No need for this new functionality here, I would think. But to each his own, if you find it useful then use it. I personally think that it doesn't make much sense.
    Yes, but bookmarking groups of tabs takes effort, requires you to open them when you need them, close them when you don't, and eventually clean out the bookmarks when you no longer need them. Easier to just leave them permanently open until I choose to close them, and modify the browser to deal with that efficiently.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    709

    Default

    SPDY sounds pretty good to, it looks like it makes https slightlyg faster then normal http (dosen't work for normal http). I'll definatly be interested in switching some serveres to it.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    It loads tabs on demand, which mean if you have 100 tabs open and close your browser.

    Then when you start it next time, it will load fast and not take long time and freeze the browser like it used to!


    "Dont' load tabs until selected"

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vertexSymphony View Post
    "Dont' load tabs until selected"
    This is new in Firefox 13 or it was there before?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Speaking about the tabs, google chrome's implementation of tabs as different processes seem to be superior to mozilla's tab implementation. Switching between tabs work smoothly in chrome but gets slow and sluggish in firefox when multiple of them are running. Closing a tab in chrome is as fast as killing a process but in firefox it has a noticeable delay. As for the rendering of pages two browsers seem to be identical in speed though.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    This is new in Firefox 13 or it was there before?
    It's there in Firefox 12 for me on this box and in Firefox 10 on another box.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,247

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glxextxexlg View Post
    Speaking about the tabs, google chrome's implementation of tabs as different processes seem to be superior to mozilla's tab implementation. Switching between tabs work smoothly in chrome but gets slow and sluggish in firefox when multiple of them are running. Closing a tab in chrome is as fast as killing a process but in firefox it has a noticeable delay. As for the rendering of pages two browsers seem to be identical in speed though.
    This is a known problem and is being worked on.

    http://blog.mozilla.org/tglek/2012/0...-very-harmful/
    some fixes already in Firefox 15: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=743877

    If you have many tabs open, timeouts from background tabs can cause slowdowns.
    1 possible solution: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=715376

    An experimental extension to kill off all background activity:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...ckground-tabs/

    And there is ongoing work to try and run the UI in a separate thread from the webpage contents, which would fix it.

    Taras's blog is a good place to find out what they are doing about these performance issues.
    http://blog.mozilla.org/tglek/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •