Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Gentoo Does An x32 Stage 3 Release Candidate

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,473

    Default Gentoo Does An x32 Stage 3 Release Candidate

    Phoronix: Gentoo Does An x32 Stage 3 Release Candidate

    Gentoo is one of the first Linux distributions to release a packaged installation for the Linux x32 architecture...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTExNTE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    574

    Default

    This is one of the big advantages of Gentoo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Posts
    433

    Default

    I'm not sure if I'll use x32 but kudos to Mike for keeping Gentoo rocking and being awesome in general.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Please stop using the terms 'x32' and 'x64', the correct terms are x86-32 and x86-64. I'm not sure if we can blame Microsoft for starting this nonsense, but please keep at least the Linux world free from this stupid terminology.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Posts
    433

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by efikkan View Post
    Please stop using the terms 'x32' and 'x64', the correct terms are x86-32 and x86-64. I'm not sure if we can blame Microsoft for starting this nonsense, but please keep at least the Linux world free from this stupid terminology.
    Actually I think x32 is the correct term in this case. x86-32 and x86-64 refer to the traditional ABIs? x32 is something new and is not to be confused with the same term thrown about in the Windows world. I don't think Windows has an equivalent to this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    624

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chewi View Post
    Actually I think x32 is the correct term in this case. x86-32 and x86-64 refer to the traditional ABIs? x32 is something new and is not to be confused with the same term thrown about in the Windows world. I don't think Windows has an equivalent to this.
    I would say that x32 is probably correct, although x86_32 given current schemes could be right too, however you're wrong about the x86 naming scheme.

    x86 actually is in reference to the 8086 and then it's successors the 80186, 80286,80386,80486 (all these usually shorthanded to remove the 80, so 186,286,386,&486), the 80586 which was then known as the Pentium because intel couldn't trademark a number, and then the 80686 ABI came in with the pentium pro and then the 80786 coming out with the penitum 4, and then AMD came up with a way to do 64 bit registers and other fun stuff with x86, while Intel was off playing with itanium and so AMD64 came out, which some people call x86_64 in order to be brand neutral.
    Last edited by Luke_Wolf; 06-07-2012 at 10:02 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by efikkan View Post
    Please stop using the terms 'x32' and 'x64', the correct terms are x86-32 and x86-64. I'm not sure if we can blame Microsoft for starting this nonsense, but please keep at least the Linux world free from this stupid terminology.
    It's x32. You didn't even bother reading the article. x86-32 is a totally different thing. There are three models now: x86, x86-64 and x32.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    It's x32. You didn't even bother reading the article. x86-32 is a totally different thing. There are three models now: x86, x86-64 and x32.
    dont forget ia64 (Itanium) :-)

    I wonder how specialist x32 will be. I'd expect an increasing number of people are running individual programs that can benefit from more than 4GB or ram. of the remainder how many will go for special options to get performance improvements. personally, scientific codes i run can use lots of RAM, so 4GB would be limiting.

    will it be possible to run preexisting x86-32 code on an x32 distro? or will these machines be in a similar position to x86-64 a few years ago.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssam View Post
    dont forget ia64 (Itanium) :-)
    That's a different architecture. x32 is for x86-64 CPUs.

    will it be possible to run preexisting x86-32 code on an x32 distro?
    If it's multilib, yes. Just like now with x86-64 distros who also provide 32-bit libraries. Gentoo is not multilib, btw. It can only build x32 packages. (Just like Gentoo AMD64 can't build 32-bit packages.) A true multilib distro might not have those limitations.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    x32? What the heck is that. x16!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •