Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: nForce 780a Linux Support (and Help!)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default nForce 780a Linux Support (and Help!)

    Hello. I just bought the Asus Crosshair II Formula and a Phenom 9550, and I'm having some serious problems. To begin, I could not simply boot my system (with ubuntu 8.04) it would not mount the drives. After reading about it, I switched the SATA controller to AHCI and started linux with the argument 'pci=nomsi' and I was able to boot.

    However, during the boot process a few applications crashed

    Code:
    [   61.175202] Eeek! page_mapcount(page) went negative! (-1)
    [   61.175260]   page pfn = 2331f9
    [   61.175312]   page->flags = 20000000001002c
    [   61.175365]   page->count = 1
    [   61.175416]   page->mapping = ffff810236ff31d8
    [   61.175474]   vma->vm_ops = generic_file_vm_ops+0x0/0x60
    [   61.175537]   vma->vm_ops->nopage = 0x0
    [   61.175591]   vma->vm_ops->fault = filemap_fault+0x0/0x390
    [   61.175647]   vma->vm_file->f_op->mmap = generic_file_mmap+0x0/0x50
    [   61.175707] ------------[ cut here ]------------
    [   61.175761] kernel BUG at /build/buildd/linux-2.6.24/mm/rmap.c:631!
    [   61.175815] invalid opcode: 0000 [1] SMP 
    [   61.176595] CPU 2 
    [   61.176687] Modules linked in: snd_seq_oss snd_seq_midi snd_rawmidi snd_seq_midi_event snd_seq snd_timer snd_seq_device evdev snd pata_acpi button pcspkr soundcore shpchp pci_hotplug ext3 jbd mbcache sg sd_mod ata_generic usb_storage libusual usbhid hid floppy forcedeth ohci_hcd ohci1394 pata_amd ahci ehci_hcd ieee1394 libata scsi_mod usbcore thermal processor fan fbcon tileblit font bitblit softcursor fuse
    [   61.178679] Pid: 3800, comm: modprobe Not tainted 2.6.24-17-generic #1
    [   61.178734] RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff8029d51a>]  [<ffffffff8029d51a>] page_remove_rmap+0x11a/0x130
    [   61.178842] RSP: 0018:ffff810235d6bd98  EFLAGS: 00010296
    [   61.178895] RAX: 000000000000004a RBX: ffff81023fd2ee78 RCX: 00000000ffffffff
    [   61.178951] RDX: 00000000ffffffff RSI: 0000000000000000 RDI: ffffffff80584be4
    [   61.179008] RBP: ffff810235aa6bb0 R08: 0000000000000000 R09: ffff8100000bfda0
    [   61.179063] R10: 0000000000000000 R11: ffffffff8036db60 R12: 00007f0879795000
    [   61.179119] R13: ffff81023fd2ee78 R14: 00007f087979b000 R15: 000000000035fcfc
    [   61.179174] FS:  00007f08799756e0(0000) GS:ffff810237c01b80(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
    [   61.179238] CS:  0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
    [   61.179292] CR2: 00007f1d87ebf000 CR3: 00000002370da000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
    [   61.179347] DR0: 0000000000000000 DR1: 0000000000000000 DR2: 0000000000000000
    [   61.179402] DR3: 0000000000000000 DR6: 00000000ffff0ff0 DR7: 0000000000000400
    [   61.179458] Process modprobe (pid: 3800, threadinfo ffff810235d6a000, task ffff8102368c0fc0)
    [   61.179524] Stack:  ffff81023680dcb8 00007f087979b000 ffff8102373bdca8 ffffffff80295402
    [   61.179791]  ffff8100010447b8 ffffffff806297a0 ffff8100010447b8 00007f087979afff
    [   61.180016]  0000000000000000 ffff810235d6beb8 ffffffffffffffff 0000000000000000
    [   61.180194] Call Trace:
    [   61.180295]  [<ffffffff80295402>] unmap_vmas+0x4f2/0x7e0
    [   61.180356]  [<ffffffff80299598>] exit_mmap+0x78/0x100
    [   61.180412]  [<ffffffff8023ae36>] mmput+0x26/0xb0
    [   61.180466]  [<ffffffff802410d0>] do_exit+0x1c0/0x950
    [   61.180524]  [<ffffffff802b3d10>] __fput+0x150/0x1e0
    [   61.180580]  [<ffffffff802cb097>] mntput_no_expire+0x27/0xb0
    [   61.180636]  [<ffffffff8024188c>] do_group_exit+0x2c/0x80
    [   61.180691]  [<ffffffff8020c37e>] system_call+0x7e/0x83
    [   61.180747] 
    [   61.180797] 
    [   61.180797] Code: 0f 0b eb fe 48 8b 53 10 e9 65 ff ff ff 66 0f 1f 84 00 00 00 
    [   61.181761] RIP  [<ffffffff8029d51a>] page_remove_rmap+0x11a/0x130
    [   61.181857]  RSP <ffff810235d6bd98>
    [   61.181917] ---[ end trace 7f4419939e511794 ]---
    [   61.181970] Fixing recursive fault but reboot is needed!
    However, the system continued to boot, but I was left at a command prompt. X will not start and when I try it can't create a temp file because my disks are in a RO filesystem.

    So then I tried the kubuntu live CD and Linux would display that same oops as above, except the boot process would stop. I know this chipset is fairly new, so I burned a fedora 9 live CD and it crashed as well. (I'm unable to copy that crash in). Before it crashed it mentioned enabling IOMMU in my BIOS, but I looked through and I could not find that option.

    As the motherboard has a build in graphics card, I decided to remove the geforce 7950 and try the built in. The Fedora 9 Live disk booted further, but no grahpical interface came up. So I typed 'X' and it reported that no display adapters were found.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Damn, I was continuing trying to get Linux working when my computer shut off. So I powered it back on, and then I hear a load noise and see a spark and smelt burning cap, so I pulled the plug. I'm going to RMA the motherboard to Newegg, but do you think that the ram, graphics card, and CPU are damaged? I asked a friend to try em but He is scared that they will "take out" his computer. Do you think I should RMA them too?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Someone just point me at this article

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/asu...oard,5348.html

    I like this quote:

    At the board level, Gigabyte pointed out that Asusí boards used poor quality capacitors that were not manufactured in Japan. "Asus uses non-Japanese made metal solid capacitors to fool you," said Gigabyte. "Asus still tries to [cut] cost down."

    Gigabyte pointed out that the capacitors used on all of its boards are made directly from high-quality Japanese manufacturers. Specifically, Gigabyte said it prefers to use those from Chemico or Fujitsu. Gigabyte engineers said that capacitors used on Asus boards are ones that are known to blow under load.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    154

    Default

    You should consider the source on that quote there That board you purchased uses a high quality (8 + 2 phase) power delivery system which should be more than enough for a Phenom. You most likely got a bad board. Are you even sure that it was the board that failed. It could've been your psu. What power supply do you have?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zappa86 View Post
    Someone just point me at this article

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/asu...oard,5348.html

    I like this quote:
    Part 2 of the new war.

    http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/37500/118/

    BTW, I've got the Asus M3N-HT Deluxe which also uses the 780a chipset with a 9850. It's booting fine with dmraid on opensuse (no boot switches needed). I would have to think that you just might have a bad board.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,613

    Default

    You could try:

    nohz=off

    as boot option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have the nForce 750a (Asus M3N-HD) I had to use 'pci=nomsi' as a boot option. I'm not using RAID or AHCI.

    But, graphics drivers is a whole other story. No luck so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •