Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 70

Thread: Announcing radeontop, a tool for viewing the GPU usage

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    821

    Default

    Your issue and other problems with the Makefile (with suggested fix) have been reported already on github https://github.com/clbr/radeontop/pull/2

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Switching obj and LDFLAGS in the Makefile did the trick.
    Senk ju ferrie matsch.

    Great to see there is already a fix in the pipeline.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    910

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Didn't watch the vid, but in general the accuracy depends on the samples per sec. The default (60) is a low number pulled out of my backside, at least it has no measurable overhead.

    But to get more accurate numbers, try "-t 1000" for example.
    I completely missed that parameter, thanks.

    Indeed, even increasing it slightly from 60 to 70 Hz results in a comparably steady state.
    Not sure if this can be generalized, but maybe it's not a good idea to poll registers with 60 Hz while
    your 3d app runs v-synched at 60 Hz also. Just an idea, where that "beating" might result from.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,034

    Default

    0.5.3 tagged, with various build fixes and default ticks upped to 120. Thanks for the feedback!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,034

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xaseron View Post
    I have to two radeon graphic cards and one is blacklisted via xen pcihide. It seems that radeontop picks this graphic card. Everything is on 100%.

    It would be nice to choose the graphic card.
    Are they the same model (pci id) or different models? Currently it just picks the first Radeon GPU it finds, I wonder what would be a good interface that would handle many cards with the same pci id.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default

    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Barts XT [ATI Radeon HD 6800 Series]
    09:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Radeon HD 4550]

    I use the second one for displaying my desktop.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,034

    Default

    OK, perhaps the first number (slot?) is the answer. I'll put it on my todo list.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    .ca
    Posts
    402

    Default

    Is all of this specific to radeon hardware?
    It would be nice to get similar information from nouveau/intel drivers; merge it all into one tool and then we can call it "dritop"...

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Ohhh! Great Curaga! Thanks!

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by not.sure View Post
    Is all of this specific to radeon hardware?
    It would be nice to get similar information from nouveau/intel drivers; merge it all into one tool and then we can call it "dritop"...
    There's already a similar tool for intel, that's the inspiration for this one.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •