Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 53

Thread: HyperZ: Errata & The Catalyst Command Stream

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maldorordiscord View Post
    Yes funny in fact the open-source driver is best quality Assurance for your hardware you can get.
    Um... no, but it sure is good QA for the documentation and sample code we write to support open source driver development

  2. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    No, I'm saying this is a problem that didn't show up in diagnostics or while writing the proprietary driver, so there's no solution/workaround to put in the errata.

    Q was claiming that there were no errata at all. Different discussion.
    Ok, that makes sense.

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maldorordiscord View Post
    Yes funny in fact the open-source driver is best quality Assurance for your hardware you can get.
    I'm not the smartest person in the world, but it seems that if Bridgman spent less time responding to flames, and more time coding, your issues would get fixed sooner.

    Now wouldn't they?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Might be worth trying older versions of fglrx and see if they cause the same problem. Another remote possibility is something faulty with a card. Try another card with the same chip/stepping to see if it is reproducible.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,635

    Default

    Wait, so if AMD doesn't know what's wrong there, then how does fglrx manage to function right? There must have been some code in it that manages those cases...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,272

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
    Wait, so if AMD doesn't know what's wrong there, then how does fglrx manage to function right? There must have been some code in it that manages those cases...
    With any bit of luck, "that part was done by the guy who left five years ago"

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Q was claiming that there were no errata at all. Different discussion.
    You forgot the word "list". because there is no errata for this bug .......

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,212

    Default might still work on newer cards

    If it really is a hardware bug, it might be fixed in newer cards. Jerome said he was mainly running tests on r600 and r700 cards, so who knows if it's still on issue on the newer ones.

    http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ly/024038.html
    Last edited by smitty3268; 07-14-2012 at 06:22 PM.

  9. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    I'm not the smartest person in the world, but it seems that if Bridgman spent less time responding to flames, and more time coding, your issues would get fixed sooner.

    Now wouldn't they?
    Bridgman is not the one who code the driver he is a manager and his job is to communicate.
    He harms nobody if he tells where to find the erratum list.
    And if this is the results then I have not harmed anyone.

    One the other side there is a popular movement who wants to force people in there way to communicate.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    578

    Default

    AMD Catalyst driver is more than 30 milion lines of code....... only an insane guy could think AMD really knows what they're doing inside that code after years of "put the brick on top of the previous brick and make a prayer that everything goes well." .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •