Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 70 of 70

Thread: Ubuntu's Unity Desktop Comes To Fedora 17

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    I found unity quite an interesting interface for newbies at first glance.

    However, given amount of resources it takes, bugs and its inability to function correctly on open drivers, I replaced it with XFCE, which takes only 1/3 of resources.

    Newbies using good machines (2GiB+, accelerated OGL) are better off with KDE.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    I found unity quite an interesting interface for newbies at first glance.

    However, given amount of resources it takes, bugs and its inability to function correctly on open drivers
    What? It works fine for me with open drivers... intel and amd. Also resource wise it doesn't seem to use anymore than gnome + compiz or gnome-shell for me. I also haven't really noticed any bugs with it in 12.04 (I did have problems in 11.04 and 11.10, but it seems solid now)
    Last edited by bwat47; 07-23-2012 at 02:24 AM.

  3. #63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chenxiaolong View Post
    Hopefully, Fedora will fix their glibc package or update rpm so that it follows symlinks (ie. glibc provides both /sbin/ldconfig and /usr/sbin/ldconfig). For now, I will update the packages to use '/usr/sbin'.
    I did a yum -y install unity and yum -y update, I got the same error

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kasumi_Ninja View Post
    I did a yum -y install unity and yum -y update, I got the same error
    Sorry, I'm on vacation and haven't had a chance to update the packages yet.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bwat47 View Post
    What? It works fine for me with open drivers... intel and amd. Also resource wise it doesn't seem to use anymore than gnome + compiz or gnome-shell for me. I also haven't really noticed any bugs with it in 12.04 (I did have problems in 11.04 and 11.10, but it seems solid now)
    I had an old machine - nvidia 6100, sempron 1.6 and 512 Mb RAM. Ubuntu 12.04 32 in default installation occupied 460Mb RAM with no applications loaded (except email client it autoloads). Nvidia proprietary drivers were broken, however noveau (tons of thanks to them, will supply them with cards when I get another one) actually worked except when clicking on the dash - where it froze the screen with corruption, additionally compiz was occupying 100% of CPU. I saw the bug on launchpad already, its documented, nothing more to be done.

    In the end I put lubuntu there, but after finding out LXDE is incapable to save sessions and has overall very very quirky conter-intuitive behaviour, I pulled xfce desktop (xubuntu) but still left lubuntu blue theming and icons. The only problem I have with XFCE is inability to call properties/set permissions on multiple of objects at once - a Thunar limitation. But its not fatal.

    Btw, Lubuntu occupied 120 and Xfce 160 MiBs accordingly. This was a machine of a senior guy, who doesn't know much about computers - primary office, banking, internet, mail. I think he is backed up pretty good by community, documentation and software store.

    I had no intel machine to test now, but the relatives use LM12 and are pretty ok with it (LM, Cinnamon, Gnome Shell). I don't think they need Unity. But thanks a lot for your report, its good to hear my case is not the only possible.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    I had an old machine - nvidia 6100, sempron 1.6 and 512 Mb RAM. Ubuntu 12.04 32 in default installation occupied 460Mb RAM with no applications loaded (except email client it autoloads). Nvidia proprietary drivers were broken, however noveau (tons of thanks to them, will supply them with cards when I get another one) actually worked except when clicking on the dash - where it froze the screen with corruption, additionally compiz was occupying 100% of CPU. I saw the bug on launchpad already, its documented, nothing more to be done.
    did you add yourself to the bug report and provide any relevant info/logs ?? - if not, than you didn't to all you could have done.

    512 of ram is probably what killed you here. (aside from nvidia breakage). You certainly wouldn't be running Win7, MacOSX 10.6/7/8 on that kind of hardware, either.. bigger DE/WMs generally consume resources and thus have higher system requirements... I wouldn't have great expectations of Unity, KDE(+kwin), Gnome-shell, etc to work that well, at least not when running a few applications on such low-specs

    I have used Unity / ubuntu 12.04 on a coreduo 1.6 + 1g of ram with radeon driver and it worked well enough, but i also didn't use it for any great length of time, either. Compiz/Unity were smooth though, dash was fast and looked good. expo / scale / etc in compiz seemed to work nicely. but i was really just having a quick look at 12.04, and wanted to install it to hardware rather than using VMware (which it is slow in).

    it's also well-known that some of the compiz-devs use the OSS drivers, over the blobs; intel, AMD and nvidia, respectively. So i would tend to think the OSS drivers must be okay (for the most part), but obviously throw any real GL-apps at them and they will flop (in comparison to the blobs).

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default

    The packages are now fixed and the updates should work now. Please run:

    Code:
    sudo touch /etc/yum.repos.d/GNOME\:Ayatana.repo
    before updating. This will force yum to update the repo (similar to "sudo apt-get update" before "sudo apt-get upgrade"). Otherwise, you can wait until tomorrow to update as yum will do this automatically every day.

    Btw, we now have the new Compiz 0.9.8

  8. #68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chenxiaolong View Post
    The packages are now fixed and the updates should work now. Please run:

    Code:
    sudo touch /etc/yum.repos.d/GNOME\:Ayatana.repo
    before updating. This will force yum to update the repo (similar to "sudo apt-get update" before "sudo apt-get upgrade"). Otherwise, you can wait until tomorrow to update as yum will do this automatically every day.

    Btw, we now have the new Compiz 0.9.8
    Thanks for the update! I got the following result:

    touch /etc/yum.repos.d/GNOME\:Ayatana.repo
    yum -y update

    Code:
    Error: Package: 1:metacity-2.34.1-9.1.x86_64 (@GNOME_Ayatana)
               Requires: /usr/sbin/ldconfig
               Removing: glibc-2.15-37.fc17.x86_64 (@anaconda-0)
                   Not found
               Updated By: glibc-2.15-51.fc17.x86_64 (updates)
                   Not found
     You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
     You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kasumi_Ninja View Post
    Thanks for the update! I got the following result:

    touch /etc/yum.repos.d/GNOME\:Ayatana.repo
    yum -y update

    Code:
    Error: Package: 1:metacity-2.34.1-9.1.x86_64 (@GNOME_Ayatana)
               Requires: /usr/sbin/ldconfig
               Removing: glibc-2.15-37.fc17.x86_64 (@anaconda-0)
                   Not found
               Updated By: glibc-2.15-51.fc17.x86_64 (updates)
                   Not found
     You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
     You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
    Sorry for not replying sooner. I was on vacation. The repository was probably being rebuilt when you were updating. If you try again, it should work

    EDIT: I'm in the process of rebuilding gtk2-ubuntu, which will cause part of the repo to be rebuilt. Running the updates at this time will probably fail. Please update sometime tomorrow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •