Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 54

Thread: KDE 4.9 Released With Many Enhancements

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBlackCat View Post
    Are you using pulseaudio?
    Nope. Just plain ALSA.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huhn_m View Post
    Can you check in /usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc wether

    #PreselectUser=Previous

    is commented out or set to Previous?
    It's set correctly.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Awesomeness View Post
    Then bitch at NVidia. They obviously introduced a regression. I'm still on 295.49 and have no such issues.
    But thanks for the warning. Not upgrading the drivers was an oversight by me but now I'll hold off upgrading the drivers on purpose.
    Just downgraded to 295.59. Same thing. It's not to the point of being unusable, mind you. It's "just" very annoying.

  4. #44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Well, then you're running some mini fork rather than upstream, official KDE. If Kubuntu doesn't have the bugs, it doesn't mean that KDE doesn't either.
    It comes with some workarounds or paper cuts. For me it matters to have rock stable distribution rather than the latest stuff. However, I'll install 4.9 when it will be available in backports.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mgraesslin View Post
    This is a bug in Aurorae which got spotted last weekend, while the patch is already finished it was too late for 4.9.0. Switching to any non Aurorae theme will fix
    I since long time made the experience that other themes than oxygen do have

    - reduced features
    - reduced reliability
    - reduced performance

    Kde gets a bad reputation for having this childish pixel feature!
    Also there are other features not needed and not working. Just throw that all away!

    I ever hear about bugs using Kde but never encountered any of them...
    Kde could have the same fame of reliability as gnome2 if they introduced stricter policies!

    Also: If Kmix is not maintained any more but there is an alternative, why not take that? Like it was done with Taskmanager and Icontasks. Such a big software collection as Kde needs a mechanism known to Gentoo users as: Last rites

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ulenrich View Post
    If Kmix is not maintained any more but there is an alternative, why not take that?
    KMix still works and VeroMix depends on PulseAudio.
    Using the word “unmaintained” was a bit too harsh. KMix gets attention every now and then.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ulenrich View Post
    Also there are other features not needed and not working. Just throw that all away!
    They can't just throw stuff away on a whim. KDE has strict backwards-compatibility rules. However, they can throw stuff away for a major release, and in fact they are in the process of doing exactly that for the upcoming frameworks release, including for window decorations and I think themes as well.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Argh...

    http://i50.tinypic.com/2lsej3b.jpg

    Slowly, but surely, KDE is driving me nuts. Sometimes it's like running pre-alpha software.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Lol I had a similar problem, but I was using the taskbar at the top and, on every reboot it would be positioned some 60px down from the top. I changed it back up every time but didn't made a difference. It seems like KDE is sort of like Windows where bugs keep piling up until you have no choice but to format the hard drive and re-install the OS.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Fortunately I found the fix. Logout, do:

    rm .kde4/share/config/plasma-desktoprc

    and login again.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •