Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Pixman Keeps On Pushing & Optimizing Pixels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,459

    Default Pixman Keeps On Pushing & Optimizing Pixels

    Phoronix: Pixman Keeps On Pushing & Optimizing Pixels

    Pixman 0.27.2 has been released and it offers up more features...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTE1MjA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    944

    Default

    I wonder if there are still CPUs being used these days that don't have SSE, but do have MMX or that run the MMX codepath better than the SSE one... Is MMX still relevant?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    I wonder if there are still CPUs being used these days that don't have SSE, but do have MMX or that run the MMX codepath better than the SSE one... Is MMX still relevant?
    The reason I was working on the MMX code paths were for Loongson and ARM/iwMMXt.

    http://mattst88.com/blog/2012/05/17/...s_and_Results/
    http://mattst88.com/blog/2012/07/06/...O_1,75_laptop/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,746

    Default

    Yes, the Xcore86 cpus. They only have MMX.

    But they can't run pixman's MMX paths, because that's actually SSE-enhanced MMX, in layman terms

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Yes, the Xcore86 cpus. They only have MMX.

    But they can't run pixman's MMX paths, because that's actually SSE-enhanced MMX, in layman terms
    Does anyone actually use these?

    The main user of MMX/x86 that I know of is the OLPC XO-1, which has a Geode with MMX plus the AMD MMX extensions (the ones that were included with SSE).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,746

    Default

    Not a huge market share no, but they're used in thin clients / signage / point of sale / etc.

    Btw, it's quite interesting to have these things happen, just like once the 486 patents expired 486 clones started appearing from non-intel-amd-via manufacturers. 586 and MMX are free to go now it seems, and we're seeing 1GHz low power cpus with those.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    98

    Default

    curaga, do you have an Xcore86 cpu yourself? It is just difficult to maintain pure legacy MMX code and make sure that it always works properly (no stray SSE-enhanced instructions accidentally mixed in) when there is no hardware available to run tests.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,746

    Default

    No, but several of Tiny Core users have such. It seems TC is well suited for that hw

    They tend to be pretty cheap though, I don't know how pixman does donations, but a complete xcore86 system is often < 200$.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,746

    Default

    I should add that while Qemu is badly suited for that (it allows more advanced code even when you specify 586), Bochs is more strict.

    So you could set up a Bochs VM to run your test suite, set to emulate a P5 MMX, and it should blow up if there's any SSE additions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •