Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Coreonline - Square Enix 3D games (Hitman, Tomb Raider) in browser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    148

    Default Coreonline - Square Enix 3D games (Hitman, Tomb Raider) in browser

    http://venturebeat.com/2012/08/29/sq...-your-browser/
    They use Google Native Client. So, it should be playable with Chrome@Linux (not tested yet). Direct link.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    They use Google Native Client. So, it should be playable with Chrome@Linux (not tested yet).
    Spoiler: Just like Mini Ninjas, they're not playable Linux


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Right it doesn't work. Square Enix uses BrowserDetect.OS JavaScript function and Chrome User Agent Switcher is useless. Can anyone change Linux->Windows in Chrome http://www.quirksmode.org/js/detect.html ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    They use Google Native Client.
    Shure? I just booted Windows to test it and it needs a Plugin, I uploaded it here. I didn't test it in wine, I just hope for a native linux version of that plugin. It is also interesting to look into the Javascript files when playing like this one which indicates that java is used in some way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    Right it doesn't work. Square Enix uses BrowserDetect.OS JavaScript function and Chrome User Agent Switcher is useless. Can anyone change Linux->Windows in Chrome http://www.quirksmode.org/js/detect.html ?
    I haven't figured out how. Firefox has general.platform.override in about:config but I've found nothing similar for chrome.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrae View Post
    Shure? I just booted Windows to test it and it needs a Plugin, I uploaded it here. I didn't test it in wine, I just hope for a native linux version of that plugin. It is also interesting to look into the Javascript files when playing like this one which indicates that java is used in some way.
    It can use either Square's proprietary plugin OR native client. You can set which one it does by default in your options if you register, although I believe if you use chrome it will default to native client.

    Edit: Whoops, just noticed I double posted :(
    My bad

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    I'm triple posting at this point, but, hey, there's no edit :p

    In any case, I finally managed to bypass their platform check, and I honestly expected there'd be some terrible issues. Ya know, crashing, graphics going all wonky, controls not working, something.

    Imagine my surprise when everything works absolutely flawlessly. No issues at all, graphics are crisp, FPS is steady. Sigh, looks like they just don't like Linux users.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KameZero View Post
    In any case, I finally managed to bypass their platform check,
    Could you share the solution?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    Could you share the solution?
    Well, basically, you need to find

    chrome://view-http-cache/http://cdn3.beta.coreonline.com/coreonline/web/rev/2805/web/js/aaa.game.js

    that file in your cache(~/.cache/google-chrome). It should start with
    Code:
    var isRunning = false;
    Find the line that says
    Code:
    if (BrowserDetect.OS == "Linux") {
    (should be line 751) and replace the "Linux" with "Lcnux" (or anything as long as it's 5 letters).
    Last edited by KameZero; 08-31-2012 at 08:23 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •