Page 15 of 28 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 271

Thread: HD 2600 PRO AGP - driver problems

  1. #141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swoopy View Post
    yes if you mean this one: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item=843&num=1

    I am using the 1.2.1 Radeonhd just fine on my H.I.S. 2600XT AGP 512MB GDDR3 IceQ Turbo
    Yep, that's it. Thanks. I'll try it tonight/tomorrow and see how it works.

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    just tried ATI 8.4 driver with ubuntu 7.10 and ONCE AGAIN GOT BLACK SCREEN. (MSI HD2600 AGP Pro).
    I even managed to install it (reguired some hacking because --buildpkg did not work...

    anyone got that working?

    or is it once again wait another month...

    even if i some day get it working I won't never ever buy ATI anymore!

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default HD2600 not working

    Same for me with SAPPHIRE RADEON HD2600 PRO AGP version. I am with gutsy too but the installation of the drivers went flawlessly (except they don't work, of course).

    I'm waiting with a 64MB NVIDIA card until I can use my new card. I'm not returning my card because I hope ATI/AMD will fix this situation. But I won't wait forever.

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787

    Exclamation

    6 (SIX) months of this thread, ONE ("Be or not to be?") problem and not yet solved! This is not just a shame, this is SCANDAL!!!

  5. #145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    6 (SIX) months of this thread, ONE ("Be or not to be?") problem and not yet solved! This is not just a shame, this is SCANDAL!!!
    I tend to agree. I don't know who's fault it is, and it'll probably make me go NVIDIA from now on. But for some good news:

    SUCCESS (Kinda) Using this guide
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item=843&num=1

    I was able to get my Sapphire 2600 XT 512 recognized. I don't hink I can play with the bells and whistles, but I'm just happy to get 1680 x 1050 finally. I'm not entirely happy, but compared to before, just getting the resolution right is enough.

  6. #146
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787

    Default

    I know of these os drivers (i use "radeon" driver on old machine with 9250 and Mesa + r200), but i must use
    fglrx for 2600 because i have my own SDL/OpenGL demos that i wrote earlier and some of them need ATI specific
    extensions... Neither of os drivers and Mesa/DRI can provide that, even not commonly 3D possibile by now.
    Why HD AGP products have this problem i don't know, but 6 (SIX) months for just ONE old-tech_"IS"-well-known "problem" is really SCANDAL.

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Well in my opinion AMD under finance the developement of there Linux driver!. That is why US has end user have such bad support for the AMD product that we have both!.

    Maybe we should have an online petition so that we the Linux user can bring a clear message to AMD management about this problem.

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    102

    Default

    For my PowerColor Radeon 2600 PRO 512MB drivers work properly but performance is very poor Performance on Windows is 2x and up better than Linux, so I agree with You that it is scandal! IT'S NOT FAIR than I can't play in games on my Linux system because AMD doesn't resolve problem from end of 2007 year!!! I think than petition is very good idea

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Any suggestions?

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    We have been working on adding 6xx AGP support for a while now and the support should start to trickle out in the next few releases depending on chip and board.

    Please don't start a petition for AGP now; the last thing in the world I want to see is people believing that a last-minute petition made a difference to something we had been working on for months. I don't want to see anyone sacrificing chickens to get better dual-head support either

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •