Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Linux Now Has Audio Run-Time Power Management

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,373

    Default Linux Now Has Audio Run-Time Power Management

    Phoronix: Linux Now Has Audio Run-Time Power Management

    The sound pull request for the Linux 3.7 kernel was finally sent in today and it provides a few new features for the Linux kernel audio drivers, including run-time power savings support...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTIwMTU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Sounds great, as long as it doesn't cause a loud "pop" in your headphones... certain audio chipsets when they go to sleep cause some kind of miniature arc lightning in an air gap between the jack and the plug (assuming you're using analog audio; obviously this doesn't apply in digital audio situations).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,525

    Default

    Hmm, so what does that mean for PulseAudio? Will there be additional power management gains, or did PA already have something like that implemented in userland?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    457

    Default

    This is nice news, but I'm also waiting on Firefox to use PulseAudio through and through.

    Maybe Michael(Larabel) can push the agenda !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,995

    Default

    How much power does this save compared to the existing HDA power-save mode? (which also often pops like allquixotic said)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Does anyone have more details on this? Is this automatic or something that needs to be enabled?

    In my laptop powersaving script I currently use these commands for intel hd-audio powersaving:
    echo 1 > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save
    echo Y > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save_controller

    Will those still work with 3.7, or should I use different commands (or any at all) when 3.7 comes out?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bwat47 View Post
    Does anyone have more details on this? Is this automatic or something that needs to be enabled?

    In my laptop powersaving script I currently use these commands for intel hd-audio powersaving:
    echo 1 > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save
    echo Y > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save_controller

    Will those still work with 3.7, or should I use different commands (or any at all) when 3.7 comes out?
    This will still work, but you might also benefit from enabling the PCI power management.

    You could also pass those options via /etc/modprobe.d/name_of_choice.conf (which also avoids potential races):

    Code:
    options snd_hda_intel power_save=1 power_save_controller=Y

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •