Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Nouveau Changes Will Make Features Like SLI Easier

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,302

    Default Nouveau Changes Will Make Features Like SLI Easier

    Phoronix: Nouveau Changes Will Make Features Like SLI Easier

    With the significant DRM changes in the Linux 3.7 kernel there's something to enjoy out of all the major open-source graphics drivers. For Nouveau users, it's particularly exciting right now and there's more hope for the future...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTE5OTI

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,001

    Default

    I hope there wont be too many regressions.

    Only a code refactoring or is there any new versions too?

    Wayland doesn't work on nouveau.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    I hope there wont be too many regressions.

    Only a code refactoring or is there any new versions too?

    Wayland doesn't work on nouveau.
    Well, this rewrite didn't hapen overnight and it has been in nouveau's tree for months now. However, we find and fix bugs as we go.
    On the other hand, a few strange bugs disapeared in the process, so I guess all in all, it is good

    As always, please test and report regressions!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MPF View Post
    Well, this rewrite didn't hapen overnight and it has been in nouveau's tree for months now. However, we find and fix bugs as we go.
    On the other hand, a few strange bugs disapeared in the process, so I guess all in all, it is good

    As always, please test and report regressions!
    Any new features?
    Does Wayland work yet?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Any new features?
    Does Wayland work yet?
    No new features (thanks to the rewrite) yet, we are fixing bugs first.

    As for wayland. Last time I tried, weston ran on the xserver but acted weirdly in drm mode. Seriously, if you want to see it fixed, fix it. It shouldn't be that hard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MPF View Post
    No new features (thanks to the rewrite) yet, we are fixing bugs first.

    As for wayland. Last time I tried, weston ran on the xserver but acted weirdly in drm mode. Seriously, if you want to see it fixed, fix it. It shouldn't be that hard.
    Yes, it works fine under X.
    But in DRM it just crashes the system.

    I don't know how to code in C, only some in higher level languages.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,296

    Default

    Is there any hope for dynamic reclocking and voltage change (the later by any means at all would be awesome)?
    I'm running an older card (quadro fx 570m nv50 G84, iirc), is there any data that I could provide that would be helpful.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,024

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    I don't know how to code in C, only some in higher level languages.
    What a wonderful learning opportunity!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liam View Post
    Is there any hope for dynamic reclocking and voltage change (the later by any means at all would be awesome)?
    I'm running an older card (quadro fx 570m nv50 G84, iirc), is there any data that I could provide that would be helpful.
    No luck for this kernel, but I think I'm not that far from delivering good reclocking support for the nv50 family. Maybe next kernel?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    426

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MPF View Post
    No luck for this kernel, but I think I'm not that far from delivering good reclocking support for the nv50 family. Maybe next kernel?
    yay

    im wondering are you going to put presets to chose from or let me set any clock i think should work (even at the risk of fire)

    also how's the proper memory management thingy going (400mhz is too low to play while 700mhz should be enough but corrupts, 1000mhz works fine on the blob)


    cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •