Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 69

Thread: EXT4 Data Corruption Bug Hits Stable Linux Kernels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,770

    Default EXT4 Data Corruption Bug Hits Stable Linux Kernels

    Phoronix: EXT4 Data Corruption Bug Hits Stable Linux Kernels

    As a warning for those who are normally quick to upgrade to the latest stable vanilla kernel releases, a serious EXT4 data corruption bug worked its way into the stable Linux 3.4, 3.5, and 3.6 kernel series...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTIxNDQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Nice, I'm on 3.6.3 right now -.-
    ## VGA ##
    AMD: X1950XTX, HD3870, HD5870
    Intel: GMA45, HD3000 (Core i5 2500K)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Great on 3.4.15 which got updated a few days ago -.-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Any word on which versions of 3.4 are bad? I'm on Fedora 16 running 3.4.11 right now and haven't noticed any problems since my last reboot two days ago. I just installed the upgraded kernel 3.6.2 but luckly haven't rebooted to it yet. Thanks for the heads up, guess I'll be removing that update now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    0_o dafuq im on 3.6.2 and rebooted it regurarly yesterday.

    And the fucken thing panicked after a reboot today. (but probably this was not related to this bug).

    I don't think anything got corrupted though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zman0900 View Post
    Any word on which versions of 3.4 are bad? I'm on Fedora 16 running 3.4.11 right now and haven't noticed any problems since my last reboot two days ago. I just installed the upgraded kernel 3.6.2 but luckly haven't rebooted to it yet. Thanks for the heads up, guess I'll be removing that update now.
    F16, installed 3.6.2, rebooted a few times since then. It's all ok for now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    This is probably why, for seemingly no reason at all, my /home partition wouldn't mount yesterday on my desktop; I had to fsck it and fix a bunch of errors. Everything is fine now... phew.

    I had done a few reboots applying updates in Arch Linux, which is likely what triggered the bug (article says several reboots in rapid succession could trigger it, due to journal replaying behavior).

  8. #8

    Default

    I use ZFS with Linux 3.6.2, so I am unaffected.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    602

    Default

    TG i'm "still" using 3.6.0


    I was to upgrade to 3.6.2 but now will wait for 3.7 anyway....it should be fully fixed by then....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Can the article be clarified? It seems like some people are going around saying the bug was introduced in 3.6.3 but 3.6.2 is affected too. This work machine I'm on now is running Fedora 17 with 3.6.2. No sign of an update yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •