Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,904

    Default Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

    Phoronix: Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

    For those pulling down the Git master of the xf86-video-ati X.Org graphics driver this week, 2D color tiling is finally enabled by default for Radeon HD 2000/3000/4000/5000/6000 series graphics cards, from R6xx through the "Cayman" GPUs...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTIyMDA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Srpska Republic, Bosnia&Herzegovina
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I've just tried the latest code, and X wont start. :/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pejakm View Post
    I've just tried the latest code, and X wont start. :/
    On Fedora 17 it also goes tits up, when I enable it
    Doesn't crash but totally distorted display.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by disi View Post
    On Fedora 17 it also goes tits up, when I enable it
    Doesn't crash but totally distorted display.
    You might also need to update other parts of the stack -- libdrm, kernel and/or mesa.

    It's possible that some part of the stack doesn't understand what's happening.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Srpska Republic, Bosnia&Herzegovina
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    You might also need to update other parts of the stack -- libdrm, kernel and/or mesa.

    It's possible that some part of the stack doesn't understand what's happening.
    xorg-server = 1.13
    kernel = 3.6.5
    mesa = latest git

    What else is needed?

    P.S. This is output from Xorg log (these do not occur if using stable xf86-video-ati driver):
    [ 13.501] (WW) RADEON(0): No outputs definitely connected, trying again...
    [ 13.501] (WW) RADEON(0): Unable to find connected outputs - setting 1024x768 initial framebuffer
    Last edited by pejakm; 11-01-2012 at 06:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pejakm View Post
    xorg-server = 1.13
    kernel = 3.6.5
    mesa = latest git

    What else is needed?

    P.S. This is output from Xorg log (these do not occur if using stable xf86-video-ati driver):
    Wild guess the ddx you build did not have kms support enabled. ./configure will print at the end if it's enabled or not read carefully

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •