Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,396

    Default Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

    Phoronix: Radeon R600 Gallium3D Enables 2D Color Tiling

    For those pulling down the Git master of the xf86-video-ati X.Org graphics driver this week, 2D color tiling is finally enabled by default for Radeon HD 2000/3000/4000/5000/6000 series graphics cards, from R6xx through the "Cayman" GPUs...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTIyMDA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Srpska Republic, Bosnia&Herzegovina
    Posts
    104

    Default

    I've just tried the latest code, and X wont start. :/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pejakm View Post
    I've just tried the latest code, and X wont start. :/
    On Fedora 17 it also goes tits up, when I enable it
    Doesn't crash but totally distorted display.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by disi View Post
    On Fedora 17 it also goes tits up, when I enable it
    Doesn't crash but totally distorted display.
    You might also need to update other parts of the stack -- libdrm, kernel and/or mesa.

    It's possible that some part of the stack doesn't understand what's happening.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Srpska Republic, Bosnia&Herzegovina
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    You might also need to update other parts of the stack -- libdrm, kernel and/or mesa.

    It's possible that some part of the stack doesn't understand what's happening.
    xorg-server = 1.13
    kernel = 3.6.5
    mesa = latest git

    What else is needed?

    P.S. This is output from Xorg log (these do not occur if using stable xf86-video-ati driver):
    [ 13.501] (WW) RADEON(0): No outputs definitely connected, trying again...
    [ 13.501] (WW) RADEON(0): Unable to find connected outputs - setting 1024x768 initial framebuffer
    Last edited by pejakm; 11-01-2012 at 06:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pejakm View Post
    xorg-server = 1.13
    kernel = 3.6.5
    mesa = latest git

    What else is needed?

    P.S. This is output from Xorg log (these do not occur if using stable xf86-video-ati driver):
    Wild guess the ddx you build did not have kms support enabled. ./configure will print at the end if it's enabled or not read carefully

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glisse View Post
    Wild guess the ddx you build did not have kms support enabled. ./configure will print at the end if it's enabled or not read carefully
    got a similar issue: after building libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati (which worked previously + kms is enabled)

    the screen stays black and the monitor turns off

    I hope this doesn't resemble fglrx-behavior


    need this box for production so rolled back the previous versions from october 26th

    so it's most probably not an configuration issue - otherwise something changed in ddx and kms isn't enabled anymore or not working properly

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glisse View Post
    Wild guess the ddx you build did not have kms support enabled. ./configure will print at the end if it's enabled or not read carefully
    Current ATI which have 2d tiling enabled by default only supports KMS so this should not be possible...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth View Post
    got a similar issue: after building libdrm mesa xf86-video-ati (which worked previously + kms is enabled)

    the screen stays black and the monitor turns off

    I hope this doesn't resemble fglrx-behavior


    need this box for production so rolled back the previous versions from october 26th

    so it's most probably not an configuration issue - otherwise something changed in ddx and kms isn't enabled anymore or not working properly

    ok, now it works - seems like either previously there was some issue with the state of git + my system that didn't mix well

    or it was llvm

    the r600-llvm-compiler switch (gentoo) didn't want to compile now (needs specific patch) so I disabled it and X works so far

    might look into it and compile it manually/custom ebuilds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •