Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Running Debian With The Linux x32 ABI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,398

    Default Running Debian With The Linux x32 ABI

    Phoronix: Running Debian With The Linux x32 ABI

    Debian packages for using the Linux x32 ABI have begun to surface and it's possible to chroot into a Debian x32 environment, but it's not yet part of the official Debian archive...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTI0MzE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The intarwebs
    Posts
    385

    Default

    This should help reduce bandwidth competition on the system ram by about 10 percent. I think intel integrated graphics don't overclock well at all because ddr3 has a tenth the bandwidth of gddr5, AND it has to share with the cpu.. and whenever anyone does ram benchmarks, they use cpu tasks and not gpu tasks. It seems anything over ddr3 1600 is basically a waste for cpu tasks.. but i bet graphics takes everything it can possibly get. If Haswell has a soldered IHS, it should be the best overclocker yet, because you only need a single closed loop water cooler for your whole system.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    Hm? In every test I've seen, AMD APUs scale linearly with memory in graphics, but Ivy Bridge doesn't change at all when given faster memory.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The intarwebs
    Posts
    385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Hm? In every test I've seen, AMD APUs scale linearly with memory in graphics, but Ivy Bridge doesn't change at all when given faster memory.
    I would love to see those tests, could you link me?

    Edit: found them. hexus needs to work on their SEO ;p
    Last edited by ethana2; 12-05-2012 at 10:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    809

    Default

    Weird that Archlinux wasn't mentioned, being as AUR has a bunch of x32 packages and if i remember correctly, Arch has x32 enabled in the default kernel, as well. (even though Archlinux doesn't 'officially' package and support x32 - there are still people using it, for sure).

    ...and in Archlinux' case 'packages haven't just begun to surface' - they have been flowing in for quite a while, with AUR having well over 100 packages with x32 support;

    https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/?O=0&K=x32

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Hm? In every test I've seen, AMD APUs scale linearly with memory in graphics, but Ivy Bridge doesn't change at all when given faster memory.
    Translation: Intel is fast enough where memory is not a major system bottleneck. Theres a reason why Intel didn't officially support memory faster then 1333MHz for a while.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamerk2 View Post
    Translation: Intel is fast enough where memory is not a major system bottleneck. Theres a reason why Intel didn't officially support memory faster then 1333MHz for a while.
    Shouldn't that be slow enough? If it were fast, memory would be a bottleneck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •