Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Open-Source ATI R500 EXA & XAA Support

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,378

    Default Open-Source ATI R500 EXA & XAA Support

    Phoronix: Open-Source ATI R500 EXA & XAA Support

    For those of you using the RadeonHD driver with a Radeon X1000 (R500) graphics card, today it has picked up EXA and XAA support! This support is still very initial -- with no EXA accelerated (DMAed) up or download yet -- but it means the start of open-source 2D acceleration for these ATI graphics cards. The git commits pushing this XAA/EXA support were made just minutes ago to xf86-video-radeonhd on FreeDesktop's server...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NjMxMQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,117

    Default

    RadeonHD FTW!

    Will test this out very soon

  3. #3

    Default

    ** Working on a fglrx, radeon, radeonhd 2D comparison. **

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    347

    Default

    How do I enable EXA? I'm on Ubuntu 7.10.

  5. #5

    Default

    Once you're running the latest xf86-video-radeonhd code, add:

    Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"

    to your radeonhd device section of the xorg.conf.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Tks. Do you have to do anything to disable XAA, which is enabled by default, or can they co-exist?

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rbmorse View Post
    Tks. Do you have to do anything to disable XAA, which is enabled by default, or can they co-exist?
    The AccelMethod tells it all, if it's XAA it's XAA. If it's EXA, it's EXA. If you use ShadowFB, it's ShadowFB.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Do I need to build the driver again or can I just do a git update?

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sundown View Post
    Do I need to build the driver again or can I just do a git update?
    You need to rebuild and reinstall the driver every time after a git update.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    The AccelMethod tells it all, if it's XAA it's XAA. If it's EXA, it's EXA. If you use ShadowFB, it's ShadowFB.
    Ok...yes. If you don't specify anything you get XAA, according to the log. In any case, for my R580+ on Ubuntu 7.10, XAA subjectively "feels" much faster than EXA. Video has fewer defects, too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •