Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Open-Source ATI R500 EXA & XAA Support

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    319

    Default

    I'd be interested in making sure the radeon driver CP support was actually enabled (the r500 support is now in DRM master).

    If it was it might be worth comparing CPU usage on both tests to see if there is a big difference.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    It might be worth adding the option for EXA:

    Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"

    and seeing if that brings the EXA performance closer to that of XAA. That's what I use with the radeon driver using EXA on an RV350, and it seems to provide a significant speedup, gtkperf results are comparable to XAA.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ejs1920 View Post
    It might be worth adding the option for EXA:

    Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"

    and seeing if that brings the EXA performance closer to that of XAA. That's what I use with the radeon driver using EXA on an RV350, and it seems to provide a significant speedup, gtkperf results are comparable to XAA.
    does someone know how to fix the offscreen pixmaps on exa?! on xaa i got them fixed with xaanooffscreenpixmaps but on exa the same option doesn't work. i suspect it isn't supported.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by givemesugarr View Post
    does someone know how to fix the offscreen pixmaps on exa?! on xaa i got them fixed with xaanooffscreenpixmaps but on exa the same option doesn't work. i suspect it isn't supported.
    They work differently so the same option doesn't make any sense.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,162

    Default

    I've read something about "EXANoOffscreenPixmaps"...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I don't know why you'd want to disable the offscreen pixmap memory management, but you could try the FBTexPercent option from man radeon.

    Option "FBTexPercent" "100"

    should assign all memory for OpenGL textures and none for EXA offscreen. I've not tested this!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ejs1920 View Post
    I don't know why you'd want to disable the offscreen pixmap memory management, but you could try the FBTexPercent option from man radeon.

    Option "FBTexPercent" "100"

    should assign all memory for OpenGL textures and none for EXA offscreen. I've not tested this!
    i'll give it a shot and see what happens.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by givemesugarr View Post
    i'll give it a shot and see what happens.
    Don't, you're disabling EXA that way. XAANoOffscreenPixmaps is needed because XAA is not good and the software implementation is faster than the "acceleration", but EXA works, so you don't need to tweak FBTexPercent.

    That said, this article is pointless! There's no EXA render acceleration for R500 with the xf86-video-ati driver, just check the sources (radeon_exa_funcs.c)!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,544

    Default

    Right. AFAIK there are some EXA calls implemented (solid fills and copy) but without render the performance is still pretty slow. The missing EXA calls are the ones which need the 3d engine, so they won't be enabled yet.

    We are trying to keep the 2d accel implementations in radeon and radeonhd compatible so that improvements in either one can be pushed easily across to the other as well.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GhePeU View Post
    XAANoOffscreenPixmaps is needed because XAA is not good and the software implementation is faster than the "acceleration", but EXA works, so you don't need to tweak FBTexPercent.
    What's the syntax for the

    XAANoOffscreenPixmaps

    option? Is it:

    Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "enable"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •