Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: oss radeon 6850 firmware issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default oss radeon 6850 firmware issues

    Hey guys.... Sorry for the long post....

    I cant get the kernel to load the firmware for my card... I dont have a kernel log because I never managed to get the dang thing to boot. It hangs on "switching clocksource to tsc" then after a few minutes it continues and then kernel panics. I've included in this post everything I thought you guys might need to help me. If anybody needs more info, just let me know and I'll gladly get it for you.

    linux kernel 3.7.1
    xorg-server 1.13.0
    mesa 9.0
    ati-drivers 12.11 beta1
    radeon-ucode 20120320

    #
    # Generic Driver Options
    #
    CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH="/sbin/hotplug"
    # CONFIG_DEVTMPFS is not set
    # CONFIG_STANDALONE is not set
    # CONFIG_PREVENT_FIRMWARE_BUILD is not set
    CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
    CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/BARTS_mc.bin radeon/BARTS_me.bin radeon/BARTS_pfp.bin"
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
    # CONFIG_SYS_HYPERVISOR is not set
    # CONFIG_GENERIC_CPU_DEVICES is not set
    CONFIG_DMA_SHARED_BUFFER=y

    #
    # Graphics support
    #
    CONFIG_AGP=y
    CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y
    # CONFIG_AGP_INTEL is not set
    # CONFIG_AGP_SIS is not set
    # CONFIG_AGP_VIA is not set
    CONFIG_VGA_ARB=y
    CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS=2
    # CONFIG_VGA_SWITCHEROO is not set
    CONFIG_DRM=y
    CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=y
    # CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
    CONFIG_DRM_TTM=y
    # CONFIG_DRM_TDFX is not set
    # CONFIG_DRM_R128 is not set
    CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
    CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
    # CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set

    #
    # Frame buffer hardware drivers
    #
    # CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_ARC is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_VGA16 is not set
    CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
    # CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_N411 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_S1D13XXX is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_RIVA is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_I740 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_LE80578 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
    CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
    CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
    # CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_S3 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_VIA is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_VT8623 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_ARK is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_PM3 is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_CARMINE is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_GEODE is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_SMSCUFX is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_UDL is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_METRONOME is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_MB862XX is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_BROADSHEET is not set
    # CONFIG_FB_AUO_K190X is not set
    # CONFIG_EXYNOS_VIDEO is not set
    CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
    # CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE is not set
    CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_GENERIC is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_APPLE is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_SAHARA is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_ADP8860 is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_ADP8870 is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LM3630 is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LM3639 is not set
    # CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LP855X is not set

    #
    # Console display driver support
    #
    CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
    CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
    CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=64
    CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
    CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
    CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
    # CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION is not set
    CONFIG_FONTS=y
    # CONFIG_FONT_8x8 is not set
    CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
    # CONFIG_FONT_6x11 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_7x14 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_PEARL_8x8 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_ACORN_8x8 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_MINI_4x6 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_SUN8x16 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_SUN12x22 is not set
    # CONFIG_FONT_10x18 is not set
    CONFIG_FONT_AUTOSELECT=y
    # CONFIG_LOGO is not set

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,279

    Default

    You also need BTC_rlc.bin.

    Alex

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    Thanks Alex,

    That did the trick.

    On a completely unrelated problem, for some reason the kernel was trying to mount root using the ext3 driver even though the fs is formatted ext4. I corrected that by specifying rootfstype=ext4 on grubs kernel line. I still cant get the dang thing booted though because gentoo's init script is mounting it as ro..... It seems as though it isnt reading the values from fstab..... Also strange is that I havent changed my drives around at all, but on 2.6.38 this very same drive was recognized as sdb, but on this kernel it is being recognized as sdd.....

    arrrrgggghhhhh.
    Last edited by duby229; 12-18-2012 at 03:39 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    ok I created a new thread in general linux to cover what I think is the problem with my root partition.....

    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...ssing-in-3-7-1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I still cant get the dang thing booted though because gentoo's init script is mounting it as ro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,519

    Default

    @duby229

    since we have the same card. Do you get any messages like this

    Code:
    [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to parse relocation -12!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    I'm still fighting an issue with openrc where it fails to mount /run after init.... So I still havent gotten it to successfully boot yet... dozens of bug report and forum posts later I still have no clue how to fix it. If I do manage to get this thing working though I'll look for it and post back here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 89c51 View Post
    @duby229

    since we have the same card. Do you get any messages like this

    Code:
    [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to parse relocation -12!
    finally got my problem figured out, after going through the flaming hoops a few times, I found forgot to enable tmpfs in the kernel, which is what caused my problem... Now everything is solid....

    I checked dmesg and did not find any errors with radeon, it is loaded and working fine now that I got the firmware loaded correctly. 3d acceleration is working, and even compiz is working as it is supposed to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •