Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Forcing Multi-Sample Anti-Aliasing With Gallium3D

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,529

    Default Forcing Multi-Sample Anti-Aliasing With Gallium3D

    Phoronix: Forcing Multi-Sample Anti-Aliasing With Gallium3D

    With the recent improvements to MSAA Gallium3D support, if you have been wanting to benefit from anti-aliasing with the open-source Gallium3D drivers but your game/application doesn't have options to toggle the MSAA level, it's now a bit easier to configure...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTI1Mzc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    Why not driconf?

    It's the standard way for these on linux, and would also support the env var. But in addition it would allow static configuration, and optionally via a GUI - you can say "I always want MSAA 8x for ET, but 0x for ETQW", without making wrapper scripts for those or exporting a global value in your environment, which would affect the compositor and possibly hurt.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Why not driconf?

    It's the standard way for these on linux, and would also support the env var. But in addition it would allow static configuration, and optionally via a GUI - you can say "I always want MSAA 8x for ET, but 0x for ETQW", without making wrapper scripts for those or exporting a global value in your environment, which would affect the compositor and possibly hurt.
    +1 for driconf

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    486

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Why not driconf?
    AFAIR the consensus of the mailing list was that there should be a driconf option. The problem is that someone has to do it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    862

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droste View Post
    AFAIR the consensus of the mailing list was that there should be a driconf option. The problem is that someone has to do it
    Yup, that seemed to be the consensus. As you said, now someone just has to do it... which should be pretty easy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    I have always been a bit confused by driconf. What exactly do the options it already has actually do?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    That's a bit wide question. Each option there has an explanation, and some are even in multiple languages.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •