Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: NetworkManager Gets A New Text Interface

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,474

    Default NetworkManager Gets A New Text Interface

    Phoronix: NetworkManager Gets A New Text Interface

    While NetworkManager already has great integration with the GNOME and KDE desktops and there are command-line interfaces to this open-source network management program, there's now a new curses-based interface...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU0Mjg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    406

    Default

    That's quite a lot of code...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Man, finally. Setting up systems without a classical DE and NetworkManager (my XBMC HTPC is an example) has always been a PITA, and the available command line tools didn't always work perfectly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It can only be better than the gnome interface. I have a dream, that one day, I will be able to refresh the wifi networks as I want, by a button or by F5.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laser View Post
    Man, finally. Setting up systems without a classical DE and NetworkManager (my XBMC HTPC is an example) has always been a PITA, and the available command line tools didn't always work perfectly.
    Oddly enough, I noticed that xbmc has it's own network manager interface.

    As a side note... sure add a command line interface, but don't make it so that you can easily create a bridge for virtualization! That's one thing that still (at least the last time I needed to do it) was a royal pain!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laser View Post
    Man, finally. Setting up systems without a classical DE and NetworkManager (my XBMC HTPC is an example) has always been a PITA, and the available command line tools didn't always work perfectly.
    Really? I actually had a few issues with the Fedora 19 and 20's betas where Plasma-nm nor the traditional KDE applet wouldn't work properly but nmcli worked flawlessly. It takes a little while to get nmcli's syntax right but once you do its actually pretty literal and understandable.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lysbleu View Post
    It can only be better than the gnome interface. I have a dream, that one day, I will be able to refresh the wifi networks as I want, by a button or by F5.
    iwlist scan sadly requires root

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    116

    Default

    This has been a long time coming.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Seems to me every time I'd click on the network manager it would refresh the wifi connections. Could be wrong about that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leech View Post
    Oddly enough, I noticed that xbmc has it's own network manager interface.
    It does, but when I checked, it seemed to work for WiFi only?! Perhaps it was my fault. I remember there being a plugin that wasn't suited for my use case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •