Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ubuntu Decides To Turn On Intel SNA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,369

    Default Ubuntu Decides To Turn On Intel SNA

    Phoronix: Ubuntu Decides To Turn On Intel SNA

    If you are an Ubuntu Linux user and rely upon Intel integrated graphics, Ubuntu developers could use your help in trying out Intel's SNA as they decide whether to enable this experimental acceleration architecture in Ubuntu 13.04...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTI3Nzk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,023

    Default

    And just like that amd will have to make powerxpress work with sna, because they officially support ubuntu. Nice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    And just like that amd will have to make powerxpress work with sna, because they officially support ubuntu. Nice.
    I don't get it. What does enabling SNA by default on xf86-video-intel has to do with AMD?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    I think ChrisXY is talking about hybrid graphics systems with an Intel IGP and AMD dGPU.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Ahh, I see. Thank you for clarifying.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,023

    Default

    Yes, powerxpress is the hybrid graphics. And as I learned today, X will not even start with the powerxpress settings set to use the amd card for rendering if the intel driver uses sna.

    And I think AMD would want to keep hybrid graphics working in the default settings.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    255

    Default just enabled SNA

    Just Enabled SNA on ubuntu 12.10 with a 3.8RC4 kernel. My old 965GM GPU, seems stable but with some small artifacts when refressing texts on places like the tabs in chromium. This seems like a good reason the buy a new laptop >

    I'll check if this is reported before, anyone else getting artifacts with SNA enabled?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,023

    Default

    With multiple monitors and chrome/chromium I often get artifacts on an unrelated screen when doing something with tabs, if using sna. With uxa it's ok. Sometimes the whole content of the chromium window is rendered on the wrong screen until I scroll a bit or something like that. On Ivy Bridge.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Please report your issues at the freedesktop bugzilla, Chris Wilson (the main SNA developer) is always extremly responsive to bug-reports.
    I submitted somewhere between 10-20 (and sometimes those were real nitpicker reports) and they got fixed in next to no time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •