Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ubuntu 13.04 Enables The Wayland Support For GTK+

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,392

    Default Ubuntu 13.04 Enables The Wayland Support For GTK+

    Phoronix: Ubuntu 13.04 Enables The Wayland Support For GTK+

    While in December Canonical said they wouldn't fix GTK+ support for Wayland, earlier this month they decided they would enable the Wayland back-end for GTK+ in Ubuntu 13.04. That change has now been made and Ubuntu's GTK+ tool-kit will function in a Wayland environment...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTI4NDg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    673

    Default

    I launched weston, opened a terminal, exported GDK_BACKEND=wayland
    and tried running gedit, gcalc, gnome-terminal, they all fail with segmentation fault.
    Used 13.04 amd64.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    403

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mark45 View Post
    I launched weston, opened a terminal, exported GDK_BACKEND=wayland
    and tried running gedit, gcalc, gnome-terminal, they all fail with segmentation fault.
    Used 13.04 amd64.
    Perhaps you have to wait a little. The fix was released just 22 hours ago. Make sure you have gtk version 3.6.4-0ubuntu2.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Firefox and Chromium does not work because they use old GTK2.
    Firefox is in progress of being ported to GTK3 tho.
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=627699

    gedit and gnome-terminal doesn't work when launching straight, but they do work if you run them via 'dbus-launch', such as 'dbus-launch gedit'.
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...s/+bug/1106158

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    403

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Firefox and Chromium does not work because they use old GTK2.
    Firefox is in progress of being ported to GTK3 tho.

    Launchpad comment: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...52/comments/94
    I find it odd that these are explicitly mentioned in the bug report. Of course they don't work, because they use GTK2. However, isn't xwayland supposed to pick this up??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    458

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313
    Firefox is in progress of being ported to GTK3 tho.
    Won't it make it incompatible with Windows and OS X?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calinou View Post
    Won't it make it incompatible with Windows and OS X?
    Nope, because Firefox doesn't use GTK on Windows or OS X. GTK is just for us Linux users (including BSD, Solaris, etc I think..)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,903

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Firefox and Chromium does not work because they use old GTK2.
    Firefox is in progress of being ported to GTK3 tho.
    Firefox also has direct calls to X in it as well - and I'm guessing Chromium probably has some too.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    Firefox also has direct calls to X in it as well - and I'm guessing Chromium probably has some too.
    Google wants to mitigate all this by porting Chromium to OpenGL.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    178

    Default

    For applications not ported yet to just use libWayland instead of Xlib, how does one run them under Weston, using a Xorg server inside weston?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •