Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Torque 3D Port To Linux Materializes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,429

    Default Torque 3D Port To Linux Materializes

    Phoronix: Torque 3D Port To Linux Materializes

    Last year I wrote about the Torque 3D game engine wanting to come to Linux and they were attempting a crowd-sourced campaign to finance the port. The campaign was a flop, but a developer has been bringing the support anyways to Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTMyODU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    649

    Default

    How was Frozen Synapse ported?
    Performance seams to still be an issue with this port.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Being one of those whom tried to get crowed fund the official linux port campaign, i've got to say that this is a really cool thing to see that someone is actually porting T3D to linux. I can only hope that port will include the editor.

    Anyway this is truly an awesome event happening.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    143

    Default

    How about all the people who put money towards the campaign (myself included) use a Flattr system or similar to get this guy some cash.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Awesome. Yes indeed, they should recollect the money and give it to Dusan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi guys
    I want to share one more addition to whole Torque3D on Linux thingy

    Now I have semi-working OpenAL sound inside my fork of Torque 3D (there is still some work left to do)


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    One picture

    Torque 3D on VMWare



    This maybe is looking like something bad, but see in pastebin console.log that this is Torque3D working on Gallium 0.4 on SVGA3D; build: RELEASE, version 2.1 Mesa 9.0.2 provided by VMWare.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I would like to present working Sixense Razer Hydra for Torque3D on Linux

    EDIT:
    provided better console.log
    console.log




    I don't have device to do real testing, but I believe that its 100% working.

    This build is also with Bullet physics enabled. As you can see inside "% - Initializing Physics Tools" you don't have anymore "No physics plugin exists." like in my other builds and console.logs what I shared here.
    EDIT: As you can see inside pastebin link, there is "Bullet Physics parallel threads: [2]"
    Last edited by TheDushan; 03-25-2013 at 07:09 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    This youtube video is showing Torque3D working on real Linux machine (not VMWare)



    In this video, you can see OpenGL renderer with basic lighting, OpenAl sound system and World Editor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •