Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: You Can Now Overclock Your Intel GPU Under Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,629

    Default You Can Now Overclock Your Intel GPU Under Linux

    Phoronix: You Can Now Overclock Your Intel GPU Under Linux

    The Intel Linux graphics driver should now work better when overclocking your Intel graphics core thanks to a new Linux kernel patch...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTMzNDc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    man, I had no idea turnbo didn't work under linux. glad its going to be fixed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    SuperUserLand
    Posts
    538

    Default

    YYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    let's go from 5fps to 10

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pallidus View Post
    YYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    let's go from 5fps to 10
    Don't you mean from 5fps to 5.7fps? A whole 14% increase!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I had no idea turnbo didn't work under linux

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Two days ago I bought an i7-3770 (3.4GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo). In Linux only works at the base frequency under stress (3.4GHz). Does this problem has to do with what is here discussed?
    I hate to see that Windows has more support for intel. Still I can not find how to use Quick Sync in Linux:
    http://www.avidemux.org/smf/index.php?topic=10440.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Would my Intel® Core™ i5-2430M be supported? I think it supports turbo up to 2.8Ghz from its normal 2.4Ghz max.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by YAFU View Post
    Two days ago I bought an i7-3770 (3.4GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo). In Linux only works at the base frequency under stress (3.4GHz). Does this problem has to do with what is here discussed?
    You might try http://code.google.com/p/i7z/ to monitor your CPU under load.
    While other methods are sometimes misleading, it shows (at least for me) that turbo is indeed working...
    Last edited by Ren Höek; 03-25-2013 at 10:12 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ren Höek View Post
    You might try http://code.google.com/p/i7z/ to monitor your CPU under load.
    While other methods are sometimes misleading, it shows (at least for me) that turbo is indeed working...
    Thank you very much!!!
    I was using cpufreq-info and some widgets for monitoring.
    i7z seems properly monitor my i7. It indicates that the turbo is enabled and my i7 is running to 3.7GHz under stress.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by YAFU View Post
    Thank you very much!!!
    I was using cpufreq-info and some widgets for monitoring.
    i7z seems properly monitor my i7. It indicates that the turbo is enabled and my i7 is running to 3.7GHz under stress.
    Is this with the new drivers reported here? Or an older driver? What driver version are we talking?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •