Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: ASUS P2-M2A690G + Xine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default ASUS P2-M2A690G + Xine

    Hi,

    I've been trying to get my new barebone to show me DVB-T transmissions. I purchased a Hauppauge WinTV Nova-T 500 dual DVB-T tuner card and was hoping I could place the HTPC into my living room. I got all needed Sw installed (list below) and starting to give it a first try. I had been testing the setup on other PC before so everything was quite easy.

    Actually the only difference was installing of fglrx.

    The list of SW is here:
    * BIOS 0601 (18-Jan-2008)
    * Fedora Core 7 + all updates available from official repositorys
    * LIRC
    * latest v4l-dvb-5c2c02dd1bb0 to enable remote control on the DVB-T card
    * XineLib 1.1.10.1 + lots of codecs
    * VDR 1.4.7 + xineliboutput, skinsoppalusikka, subtitles plugins

    The HW I have:
    ASUS P2-M2A690G (IGP X1250)
    AMD Athlon X2 BE-2350 2.1GHz
    Maxtor 320GB HDD
    1G Kinston 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM


    I got all the preparations made, channels tuned etc. and when I started the system with following command, I only got a not-scaled image which seems to be similar when TV set has lost line sync. It was not as random as in line-sync-missing case, but there was no reasonable picture.
    The command used was:
    vdr --video=/dvb_recorder --config=/etc/vdr -Pskinsoppalusikka -Psubtitles -P"xineliboutput --local=sxfe --video=xv --audio=alsa --remote=none"

    As I said the scaling was not done at all, even it was set to be scaled.

    I tried also other video outputs, like xshm, which gave me the best result (it was in no means good). All other options either didn't give any video at all or same as xv or hang the PC completely.

    I also tried Mplayer which showed me the video but it seemed to me that HW acceleration was not used at all.

    Here is the output of Mplayer with Xv:
    [vieras@ohdigiboxi ~]$ mplayer -vo xv dvb://MTV3
    MPlayer 1.0rc2-4.1.2 (C) 2000-2007 MPlayer Team
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) X2 Dual Core Processor BE-2350 (Family: 15, Model: 107, Stepping: 2)
    CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
    Compiled with runtime CPU detection.
    mplayer: could not open config files /home/vieras/.lircrc and /etc/lircrc
    mplayer: No such file or directory
    Failed to read LIRC config file ~/.lircrc.

    Playing dvb://MTV3.
    dvb_tune Freq: 698000000
    TS file format detected.
    VIDEO MPEG2(pid=305) AUDIO MPA(pid=561) NO SUBS (yet)! PROGRAM N. 0
    VIDEO: MPEG2 720x576 (aspect 3) 25.000 fps 5000.0 kbps (625.0 kbyte/s)
    ================================================== ========================
    Opening video decoder: [mpegpes] MPEG 1/2 Video passthrough
    VDec: vo config request - 720 x 576 (preferred colorspace: Mpeg PES)
    Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
    Opening video filter: [scale]
    The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
    Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
    e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
    VDecoder init failed
    Opening video decoder: [libmpeg2] MPEG 1/2 Video decoder libmpeg2-v0.4.0b
    Selected video codec: [mpeg12] vfm: libmpeg2 (MPEG-1 or 2 (libmpeg2))
    ================================================== ========================
    ================================================== ========================
    Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
    AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 224.0 kbit/14.58% (ratio: 28000->192000)
    Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
    ================================================== ========================
    AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
    Starting playback...
    VDec: vo config request - 720 x 576 (preferred colorspace: Planar YV12)
    VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0)
    Movie-Aspect is 1.78:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
    VO: [xv] 720x576 => 1024x576 Planar YV12
    A:41787.3 V:41787.4 A-V: -0.018 ct: -0.204 52/ 52 22% 3% 75.8% 1 0
    Exiting... (Quit)

    I have set videooverlay with aticonfig as said in some other post, but I coudn't find any place to do the TexturedVideo setting.

    I also checked Xorg log there is no errors. Xorg.conf is the one generated with 'aticonfig --initial'.

    I have been surfing around quite a while now and finally this forum seemed the right place for describing my problem and getting some help.

    -P-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I forgot to tell that I use 8.02 of fgrlx.

    -P-

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    You're having the same problem that many of us are, I believe:

    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7876

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi again,

    I noticed while still trying 8.02 with X1250 that if the DVB-T data seems to be in 4:3 format it can be viewed but if it is in 16:9 format it cannot be viewed. I could see this by setting the window shape to 16:9 and selecting different channels. If stream is in 4:3, there will be black stripes on left and right, but I can watch the transmission. With 16:9 the whole window is messed up i.e. no stripes anywhere.
    It doesn't matter which format the stream is, scaling doesn't work.

    -P-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    My recollection is that VideoOverlay and TexturedVideo get set in the same section. Not sure if you can set those with aticonfig (I think you can) but if you can that would be better than editing xorg.conf since IIRC in the event of a disagreement the aticonfig db wins.

    You definitely need textured video or you won't get scaling. VideoOverlay is for older chips, ie below 5xx.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    My recollection is that VideoOverlay and TexturedVideo get set in the same section. Not sure if you can set those with aticonfig (I think you can) but if you can that would be better than editing xorg.conf since IIRC in the event of a disagreement the aticonfig db wins.

    You definitely need textured video or you won't get scaling. VideoOverlay is for older chips, ie below 5xx.
    bridgman,

    What is the proper way to set TexturedVideo using aticonfig?

    Also, is there any documentation available on the options that are available and their functions?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Here is my Xorg.conf:


    # Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    # Screen 0 "MyScreen" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "fi"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "External"
    Option "RightOf" "Panel"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Panel"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "vesa"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "MyCard"
    Driver "radeonhd"
    Option "monitor-VGA_CRT1/DAC_A" "External"
    Option "monitor-PANEL_LCD1/LVDS" "Panel"
    Option "RROutputOrder" "PANEL_LCD1/LVDS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "MyScreen"
    Device "MyCard"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    ## This is superfluous and actually harmful with a
    ## static configuration. Enable for dynamic config only.
    #Virtual 2704 1050
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    And some portions of amdpcsdb (cut out some hex values to shorten it... I added Textured2D manually based on some post in some forum, it didn't help. Also TexturedVideo is added manually, didn't help either.
    Otherwise this is generated with aticonfig.

    AMDPCSDBV1
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/MCIL]
    PXACAutoSwitch=V0
    PXDCAutoSwitch=V0
    CVRULE_CUSTOMIZEDMODESENABLED=V1
    DALLinuxSupport=V1
    DALNonStandardModesBCD=R140010500000006... ***some cut here***
    DALRULE_ADDNATIVEMODESTOMODETABLE=V1
    DALRULE_DYNAMICMODESUPPORT=V1
    DALRULE_GetLCDFakeEDID=V1
    DALRULE_GetTVFakeEDID=V1
    DALRULE_NOFORCEBOOT=V1
    DALRULE_POWERPLAYDISREGARDDISPLAY=V1
    DALRULE_RESTRICTDISPLAYSBASEDONPANELRES=V0
    GCORULE_FlickerWA=V1
    GCORULE_LCDValidatePixelClkOnly=V1
    GXOM5XDisableLaneSwitch=V1
    R6LCD_RETURNALLBIOSMODES=V1
    TVEnableOverscan=V1
    DALLastSelected=V1
    DALLastConnected=V1
    DALLastTypes=V129
    DALObjectData0=R01010001010001010001... ***some cut here***
    DALObjectData1=R0000000000000000000... ***some cut here***
    DALSelectObjectData0=R01010001010001... ***some cut here***
    DALSelectObjectData1=R00000000000000... ***some cut here***
    DALCurrentObjectData=R010100000000
    DALR6 CRT_MaxModeInfo=R000000000005000000040000000000004 B000000
    DAL_CRTColorTemperatureSourceD109766E=R02000000641 90000
    DAL_CRTColorTemperatureSource00000000=R02000000641 90000
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/LibXUtil/Display1]
    Map=V0
    Enable=V1
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/LDC]
    LastViewedPage=SMääritys
    HelpDisabled=V0
    DP_MSG_FLAG=V0
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX]
    OverlayOnCRTC2=S1
    VideoOverlay=Son
    OpenGLOverlay=Soff
    Textured2D=STrue
    TexturedVideo=Son
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/DDX/RECENTMODE/SCREEN00]
    Width=V1280
    Height=V1024
    Refresh=V75
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/OpenGL]
    AntiAliasSamples=V0
    AnisoDegree=V2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Do those files make any sense?

    -P-

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I managed to get 4 channels out of 8 to work correctly by adjusting the screen and view properties. I still cannot understand why those four channels are not showed correctly. Two of those are in same DVB-T multiplex and others are in their own. So all multiplexes except one has one working channel.

    The scaling started to work when I retested it today. I don't understand why it didn't work earlier even though I booted the machine.

    So conclusion is now such that scaling is now working for all channels. I can get the picture showed correctly or the mixed picture, but both of those are in right size.
    The used output is Xv.

    I need to figure out what is different in those four channels. Maybe the decoding is not done correctly. It would be very much appreciated if someone could give me any hints where to start from.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •