Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Radeon HDMI Linux Audio Might Be Restored Soon

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,121

    Default Radeon HDMI Linux Audio Might Be Restored Soon

    Phoronix: Radeon HDMI Linux Audio Might Be Restored Soon

    Support for HDMI audio output with the open-source Radeon Linux graphics driver might finally be in a state where it could be re-enabled by default...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM1MTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Rafał Miłecki now things
    I thing that's a typo

    About HDMI audio, I have it enabled on my HD4890, and it doesn't cause any issues at all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default what about HD Audio?

    what about HD Audio? Does it support HD Audio?

    The closed Linux catalyst driver doesn't, but is it stopping for implementing it? I think Windows Catalyst driver support HD Audio, so I guess its not a limitation of the hardware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jkumar View Post
    what about HD Audio? Does it support HD Audio?
    What do you mean by "HD Audio"? Intel Azalia codecs?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    148

    Default

    I think he means HD pasthrough, for codecs such as DTS, DTS HD, AC3, Dolby Digital... Playing those through a compatible amplifier is awesome
    It's been an awesome two weeks for the radeon driver, kudos to all involved, and many thanks.

    Serafean

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Any news on supporting Cayman+? My Trinity really misess this... It'd be perfect together with vdpau!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    184

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Serafean View Post
    I think he means HD pasthrough, for codecs such as DTS, DTS HD, AC3, Dolby Digital... Playing those through a compatible amplifier is awesome
    It's been an awesome two weeks for the radeon driver, kudos to all involved, and many thanks.
    What are the problems with passthrough? I didn't try DTS HD, but the rest seems to work fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by HokTar View Post
    Any news on supporting Cayman+? My Trinity really misess this... It'd be perfect together with vdpau!
    According to the http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature Cayman is DCE5, which should be working. We don't support DCE6 yet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Serafean View Post
    I think he means HD pasthrough, for codecs such as DTS, DTS HD, AC3, Dolby Digital... Playing those through a compatible amplifier is awesome
    Oh. I don't have such equipment, but there certainly are options for enabling that in pavucontrol and XBMC, so I assume it should work fine.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zajec View Post
    According to the http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature Cayman is DCE5, which should be working.
    My mistake, should have been "Cayman<".

    Quote Originally Posted by Zajec View Post
    We don't support DCE6 yet.
    Exactly, my question was referring to this; any plans maybe?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    184

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HokTar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Zajec View Post
    We don't support DCE6 yet.
    Exactly, my question was referring to this; any plans maybe?
    This is on my TODO, but it's more complicated than earlier DCE and I still have sth to improve on earlier DCEs. Next month maybe.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •