Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Radeon Driver Gets Golden Registers In Linux 3.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,114

    Default Radeon Driver Gets Golden Registers In Linux 3.10

    Phoronix: Radeon Driver Gets Golden Registers In Linux 3.10

    A second Linux 3.10 Radeon DRM driver pull request was submitted by AMD's Alex Deucher. The pull request sent to Red Hat's David Airlie for the DRM sub-system mentions the "golden registers" addition as being the highlight of this batch of new open-source AMD Linux graphics code...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM1Nzc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,911

    Default

    Can a Dev weigh in more on "Golden Registers" ? It sounds important but Im not really grasping the concept from michael's summary
    Last edited by Ericg; 04-23-2013 at 07:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    640

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Can a Dev way in more on "Golden Registers" ? It sounds important but Im not really grasping the concept from michael's summary
    detto

    would be interesting what functionality those provide


    is this the preparation for the behind-doors developed new exciting changes ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,022

    Default

    I have question, now that golden registers are pushed...

    When are platin and diamond registers will be made available?..

    /humor mode off

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    yeah same question. Golden Register? You gotta give us more than that.
    Last edited by duby229; 04-23-2013 at 10:27 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Can a Dev weigh in more on "Golden Registers" ? It sounds important but Im not really grasping the concept from michael's summary
    Something to do with power management?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    418

    Default

    I'm pretty sure its the initial set of registers that need to be setup so that the GPU can start to do something.

    Think of those registers as things like setting the clocks right, voltage correct, dividers etc. Without those setup right, the GPU can't run. I'm sure there's more technical things being done as well.

    Make sense?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    384

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oliver View Post
    ...Without those setup right, the GPU can't run...

    Make sense?
    No as the GPU runs without this new thing, too, or where are all these "I have a black screen cause of no golden registers" bug reports?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TAXI View Post
    No as the GPU runs without this new thing, too, or where are all these "I have a black screen cause of no golden registers" bug reports?
    Unless of course atombios etc does this. Or the defaults are sane enough that the GPU comes up, albeit underpowerd and underfeatured?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    384

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oliver View Post
    Unless of course atombios etc does this.
    If it does it, why does the driver now have to do it, too?
    Or the defaults are sane enough that the GPU comes up, albeit underpowerd and underfeatured?
    Static power management always worked fine for me. The GPU had always the speed and voltage it should have. Also what features should be missing without golden registers?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •