Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: Ubuntu To Look At Replacing Firefox With Chromium

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,780

    Default Ubuntu To Look At Replacing Firefox With Chromium

    Phoronix: Ubuntu To Look At Replacing Firefox With Chromium

    Linux developers are considering this week replacing Mozilla Firefox with Chromium, Google's open-source version of their Chrome web-browser, for the Ubuntu 13.10 release...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM3Mjk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    Compared to upstream Google Chrome, Chromium lacks [...] support for the built-in Adobe PDF viewer, support for the built-in Adobe Flash player
    Not true, Michael. Support is there. The plugins are not shipped with it, but support is there. I'm using Chromium with Google's PPAPI Flash and their PDF plugin just fine. You just have to install the plugins manually and tell Chromium where to find the Flash one. (The PDF plugin is picked up automatically.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,126

    Default probably makes sense given their mobile focus

    I could list a 100 ways firefox is better, but for lite use chromium might be the better choice and it almost certainly is for phone and tablet use right now. So this probably makes sense for Canonical.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    I could list a 100 ways firefox is better, but for lite use chromium might be the better choice and it almost certainly is for phone and tablet use right now.
    Not anymore. This is how Chrome started (Firefox started the same way,) but today it's just as bloated as Firefox.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    169

    Default

    for lite browsing they would have better luck with midoru, If they decide to make chromium default I guess I will have to remove it and install firefox for every new install I do.

    Firefox is just too good these days.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Not anymore. This is how Chrome started (Firefox started the same way,) but today it's just as bloated as Firefox.


    Yes, and probably Chromium spy on you like Chrome.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    221

    Default lol

    i use chrome, but chromium use the same pluggins if we want, this decision is because flash, chrome is much better than firefox now, less user ram, great app shop, less bugs. this is not a problem for me

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrecorreia View Post
    i use chrome, but chromium use the same pluggins if we want, this decision is because flash, chrome is much better than firefox now, less user ram, great app shop, less bugs. this is not a problem for me
    Chrome uses more ram than Firefox its a myth that it uses less. It just breaks itself up into multiple processes so at first glance it may look like less but its acctually uses more. As for less bugs to what are you referring?

    Personnally I'm getting fed up with decisions about the desktop being made due to mobile issues, I want a superior desktop not a compromise between the two. I'm very close to jumping ship.
    Last edited by timothyja; 05-15-2013 at 10:18 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,888

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrecorreia View Post
    i use chrome, but chromium use the same pluggins if we want, this decision is because flash, chrome is much better than firefox now, less user ram, great app shop, less bugs. this is not a problem for me
    Over all-- more RAM. Chrome splits up tabs into separate processes so that they are sandboxed, but each one has all Chrome deps.

    Chrome under use for 1hr: 1700mbs of RAM used.
    Firefox under use for 1hr: 1200MBs of RAM being used.

    Sites: Linuxhomepage.com, phoronix.com, arstechnica.com, h-online.com and news.google.com

    Adblock is up on both. Before Firefox version...18 or so, I would've agreed. But the last few versions Mozilla has been paying special attention to RAM and CPU usage in no small part because Android firefox and Desktop firefox share much of the same code, therefore they cant be assuming "4gbs of ram" and instead have to make sure its good on 512mb or 1gb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by artivision View Post
    Yes, and probably Chromium spy on you like Chrome.
    The code is there for all to see. If you find something in there that's spyware, feel free to report it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •