Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Using Six Monitors With AMD's Open-Source Linux Driver

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,135

    Default Using Six Monitors With AMD's Open-Source Linux Driver

    Phoronix: Using Six Monitors With AMD's Open-Source Linux Driver

    Linux graphics drivers have come a long way in recent years for both the open and closed-source solutions from AMD, NVIDIA, and Intel. In this Sunday article, a Phoronix reader has shared his experiences in going from failing to setup two monitors under Linux just a few years ago with NVIDIA to now successfully driving six monitors on a single system using the AMD Linux driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM3NTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Good to know that it works!

    One more feature I've been wondering about for quite a while is support for 3D screens in open-source drivers, r600g in particular. Can they output 3D on a 3D monitor?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Is that Niklas Andersson from Swedish TechWorld Open Source? (idg network)
    Nice to hear that things work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    594

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille_kungen View Post
    Nice to hear that things work.
    It looks like this happens so rarely for the average Phoronix forums user. 8)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    117

    Default

    To persist the screen setup:
    -In the old KDE screen settings there is a button hidden in another button that save the config as default
    -Or you could write the rules in xorg.conf
    -Or autostart script with xrandr

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by talvik View Post
    -In the old KDE screen settings there is a button hidden in another button that save the config as default
    It's important to not forget to reset this settings or remove krandr config before upgrade to KScreen-based display configuration.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    Phoronix: Using Six Monitors With AMD's Open-Source Linux Driver

    Linux graphics drivers have come a long way in recent years for both the open and closed-source solutions from AMD, NVIDIA, and Intel. In this Sunday article, a Phoronix reader has shared his experiences in going from failing to setup two monitors under Linux just a few years ago with NVIDIA to now successfully driving six monitors on a single system using the AMD Linux driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM3NTM
    Is it not just that the xorg stack is in better state in fedora / ubuntu ?
    Will be nice to see some test between those two, not just openGL performance but tearing test, monitor detection test...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    7970-card with six outputs (4 hdmi, 2 dvi)
    AMD hardware only has two non-DP (DisplayPort) PLLs. Officially this means that only two non-DP monitors are supported. If you want to use more than two monitors, the rest of them should be native DP (or using active DP adapters). Technically this setup is not officially supported. That said, I added support for sharing non-DP PLLs in kernel 3.7 which means that you can share PLLs between non-DP displays if the selected modes on the displays share the same display clock. That's probably what "fixed" it, but it has some limitations and it wasn't really a bug per se.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    147

    Default This is not really that new...

    I am running three monitor setup with my Sapphire HD6850 for quite some time. 3 Samsung 20" SyncMaster 204B/BM moniotrs, with each 1600x1200 = 4800x1200
    Two monitors are on DVI port and third is conneted through active Displayport to DVI interface.

    It works very well on open source radeon driver.

    For my next setup I plan to use FPGA to drive multiple LCD panels from Displayport directly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,911

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brane215 View Post
    I am running three monitor setup with my Sapphire HD6850 for quite some time. 3 Samsung 20" SyncMaster 204B/BM moniotrs, with each 1600x1200 = 4800x1200
    Two monitors are on DVI port and third is conneted through active Displayport to DVI interface.

    It works very well on open source radeon driver.

    For my next setup I plan to use FPGA to drive multiple LCD panels from Displayport directly.
    I think this article was more about the fact that just 6months ago...you shouldnt have even TRIED this. And now its working out of the box no problems.

    Edit: KScrens may make it in for KDE 4.11 .. http://www.afiestas.org/kscreen-0-1-rc1-released/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •