Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Digia Announces "Boot To Qt" Project

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,359

    Default Digia Announces "Boot To Qt" Project

    Phoronix: Digia Announces "Boot To Qt" Project

    Digia has announced a new commercial endeavour that pairs a lightweight Qt stack atop an Android kernel/base operating system...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM3NzY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    966

    Default

    The goods - faster than Android+JVM.
    The bads - closed source. :/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,064

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    The goods - faster than Android+JVM.
    ... On what do you base this statement?

    The bads - closed source. :/
    Cant argue with that...

    Edit: from their website, I see that the "speed" thing is about ***BOOT*** times, not actual performance. You know that you can make Android boot in less than half the time by deleting stuff? They say regarding the point of the project "Android brings in a lot of additional stuff, but that is also the point. Most embedded devices do not need that." -- well then don't build them into your Android build. Its pretty easy to customize a build to leave out all the stuff you don't need, and I say this as someone who develops embedded systems (and uses Android, for the most part).
    Last edited by droidhacker; 05-23-2013 at 03:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,993

    Default

    Can you cut out Dalvik from Android, and still have it boot?

    Anything native beating a Java VM in startup speed is not an outrageous claim...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    270

    Default

    The UI doesn't look much different from Tizens: Qt 5 Integrated with Tizen Emulator

    The UI of both the Sailfish OS and "Ubuntu for phones" looks much more elegant and polished IMHO. Regarding it looks I would prefer Firefox OS or Android as well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Does this mean anything to the Plasma Active team?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by intellivision View Post
    Does this mean anything to the Plasma Active team?
    Possibly. Qt5 took in some of the "KDE-Only" things and KF5 should be replacing some of the other "KDE-only" things with native, generic Qt ones. While this particular project's source is closed, the idea is not. Its possible that we could see ROM's (Maybe CyanogenMod ) offering versions that boot to a Plasma Active interface based on the ideas of "Boot-To-Qt"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    238

    Default Mer

    Why don't just use Mer?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thaodan View Post
    Why don't just use Mer?
    Why not Zoidberg? Same reason.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droidhacker View Post
    Code:
    The bads - closed source. :/
    Cant argue with that...
    Well, I am not sure this is the case. The Qt source is available under a free license, so I believe you will be able to build this yourself. Of course, it's a tech preview, so not all of it may be released yet. But the basic idea of the dual licensing model is that Digia provides stuff ready-made (compiled, adjusted to the device, etc.) to commercial parties who pay Digia for this bundle together with a support license. If you don't want support, just build it yourself. Of course, I might be wrong and there might be closed-source code in there somewhere, but I haven't seen any statement suggesting this. So I believe that the Phoronix article is wrong.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •