Page 26 of 28 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 LastLast
Results 251 to 260 of 279

Thread: AMD Has Massive Radeon Patch Set - Power Management!

  1. #251

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baqtor View Post
    Where can I get that ppa? Do yo mean this one? http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...-next/current/
    +1
    request a ppa for ease of installation in ubuntu 12.10

  2. #252
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    885

    Question Programming Docs

    Will we see the corresponding programming docs for UVD and DPM as well?
    At least for those parts that have been "uncovered" with the recent code drop?

  3. #253
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    138

    Default

    Thanks for this update......
    one question default my radeon 6450
    power level 2 sclk: 62500 mclk: 66700 vddc: 975 vddci: 0

    how can set
    power level 0 sclk: 10000 mclk: 15000 vddc: 900 vddci: 0

    when play uvd
    uvd vclk: 70000 dclk: 56000
    power level 0 sclk: 62500 mclk: 66700 vddc: 1000 vddci: 0

    thanks

  4. #254
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi, I managed to get a dmesg log from the kernel after booting. I'm not sure if it'll help but here it is.

    To summarize my previous post: the patches from the drm-next-3.11-wip-5 branch work fine with my 6870 (with dpm enabled). Using the later patches with dpm enabled result in graphical artifacts all over my screen. The dmesg log I linked is from using the latest patches from the drm-next-3.11 branch.

  5. #255
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Just to clarify, /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_dpm_state will always be and say 'performance' right? We cannot change it?

  6. #256
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bushido_root View Post
    Just to clarify, /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_dpm_state will always be and say 'performance' right? We cannot change it?
    uvd and

    access to

    cat /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info
    uvd vclk: 0 dclk: 0
    power level 2 sclk: 72500 mclk: 100000 vddc: 1088 vddci: 1100

    might work


    but it's annoyingly loud:

    when when doing the slightest move (e.g. even clicking on links on marc.info the gpu immediately clocks up)


    is there a way to set up more silent profiles ?


    or am I back to static profile-based cooling ?


    I really miss the improved snappiness, cooler running and - above all - more silent running from 2-3 days ago


    that is on a radeon 5850 HD

  7. #257
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Thanks for the awesome work agd5f (Amd).

    Using http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...3-07-04-saucy/
    and these firmware files: RV730_smc.bin and RV710_uvd.bin.

    I got a RV730 card:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV730/M96 [Mobility Radeon HD 4650/5165]

    Issues:
    1. Screen flickering with horizontal lines. It seems to me it happends whenever the card is changing to a lower power state. Can anyone confirm this? At least the flickering disappears when running something graphics-intensive. Can you confirm this agd5f?
    2. UVD is not working. Dmesg:
    [ 28.299565] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 29.311534] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 30.323500] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 31.335467] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 31.355311] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, giving up!!!
    [ 31.355316] [drm:rv770_startup] *ERROR* radeon: failed initializing UVD (-1).

    Why is it trying to start a rv770 card? Or is it just the name of the routine?

    Anyway thanks!

  8. #258
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth View Post
    I really miss the improved snappiness, cooler running and - above all - more silent running from 2-3 days ago


    that is on a radeon 5850 HD
    I'm running on this kernel and everything seems just fine for me.
    You could always go back to the previous release if you want....

    This laptop is HD54000 CEDAR.

    Quote Originally Posted by tball View Post
    Thanks for the awesome work agd5f (Amd).

    Using http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...3-07-04-saucy/
    and these firmware files: RV730_smc.bin and RV710_uvd.bin.

    I got a RV730 card:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV730/M96 [Mobility Radeon HD 4650/5165]

    Issues:
    1. Screen flickering with horizontal lines. It seems to me it happends whenever the card is changing to a lower power state. Can anyone confirm this? At least the flickering disappears when running something graphics-intensive. Can you confirm this agd5f?
    2. UVD is not working. Dmesg:
    [ 28.299565] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 29.311534] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 30.323500] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 31.335467] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, trying to reset the VCPU!!!
    [ 31.355311] [drm:r600_uvd_init] *ERROR* UVD not responding, giving up!!!
    [ 31.355316] [drm:rv770_startup] *ERROR* radeon: failed initializing UVD (-1).

    Why is it trying to start a rv770 card? Or is it just the name of the routine?

    Anyway thanks!
    I don't get any flickering at all, not when the power level is decreasing or increasing.
    Last edited by Bushido_root; 07-04-2013 at 05:13 PM.

  9. #259
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    439

    Default

    Doesn't seem to work for me (Radeon HD5770 / Juniper) :\

    radeon_pm_info says it's in power level 2 all the time!

  10. #260
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ledti View Post
    Hi, I managed to get a dmesg log from the kernel after booting. I'm not sure if it'll help but here it is.

    To summarize my previous post: the patches from the drm-next-3.11-wip-5 branch work fine with my 6870 (with dpm enabled). Using the later patches with dpm enabled result in graphical artifacts all over my screen. The dmesg log I linked is from using the latest patches from the drm-next-3.11 branch.
    The wip-5 branch had level changes disabled for your asic since it was hanging for a lot of people. Newer versions re-enabled them after I fixed a bug i the memory clock setup.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •