Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Garry's Mod Running On Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,624

    Default Garry's Mod Running On Linux

    Phoronix: Garry's Mod Running On Linux

    The Garry's Mod sandbox physics mod game powered by the Source Engine is now running well natively on Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM4NTE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    377

    Default

    Anyone else having this problem or know how to fix it? http://pastie.org/8013213

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    209

    Default

    I've been trying to get it running off and on since yesterday morning. I keep getting an error pop-up during the loading screen though: "Could not load library client (unknown error)".

    The terminal output isn't particularly helpful either; there's some errors about gameoverlayrenderer.so not being able to be preloaded, warnings about LIBDBUSMENU-GLIB "Trying to remove a child that doesn't believe we're it's parent" and not being able to load/find some shader cache before seg-faulting.

    A friend of mine on a 32-bit Kubuntu install has been able to play with no issues, while I and others I have heard from with the same problem seem to all be on 64-bit distros.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    77

    Default

    It is still broken but if you install gconf-32bit it should go further...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    377

    Default

    I'm on gentoo with the multilib overlay, so there are no 32 bit packages, all libraries are compiled for 64 and 32 bit. So what exactly do I need?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laughing1 View Post
    It is still broken but if you install gconf-32bit it should go further...
    Ya, installing ia32-libs in Kubuntu seemed to sort the gconf-32 issue for me.

    Now I get to crash one step further down the line after the Facepunch logo shows up and it tries to load some stuff.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Woo, can finally get to the main menu now without crashing, didn't try going any further yet as I am on my way to bed atm, but figured I would mention it at least for those interested.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Code:
    Now I get to crash one step further down the line after the Facepunch logo shows up and it tries to load some stuff.
    How did you solved that?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,266

    Default

    I figure Valve intentionally hasn't told anyone about it. I'm assuming it's in a serious beta state, where they don't want new customers buying it and reporting things that might not be issues. If you already own it and it happens to show up in your games list, chances are you already played it on Windows, so these people are the ones who are most likely to know what's a problem and what isn't, and can be more patient for future updates.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by towo2099 View Post
    Code:
    Now I get to crash one step further down the line after the Facepunch logo shows up and it tries to load some stuff.
    How did you solved that?
    I didn't; Garry did. I had to restart my machine and when I restarted my Steam client an update for GMod ran and I tried to launch it again and I got through to the main menu for the game.

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    I figure Valve intentionally hasn't told anyone about it. I'm assuming it's in a serious beta state, where they don't want new customers buying it and reporting things that might not be issues. If you already own it and it happens to show up in your games list, chances are you already played it on Windows, so these people are the ones who are most likely to know what's a problem and what isn't, and can be more patient for future updates.
    If you own it and can't install/launch it, then it is probably because you didn't opt into the development beta, there was an announcement a few days back by Garry that using the secret word from the game will give you access to the new SteamPipe-based development beta. http://linuxgamecast.com/2013/05/gar...lient-support/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •