Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 81

Thread: Radeon DRM: Dynamic Power Management Updates

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    UVD is done
    Still missing on RS780/880 and RV790.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,941

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vim_User View Post
    Still missing on RS780/880 and RV790.
    Okay...BASICALLY done. My point is: what comes next? Maintenance mode? Is there a big-item on the TODO list that the devs have been wanting to tackle?

    EDIT: 3D is not a valid answer to me >.> Now that we are at 3.0+ I consider it okay to just get that done gradually in time.
    Last edited by Ericg; 07-09-2013 at 01:01 AM.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Okay...BASICALLY done. My point is: what comes next? Maintenance mode? Is there a big-item on the TODO list that the devs have been wanting to tackle?

    EDIT: 3D is not a valid answer to me >.> Now that we are at 3.0+ I consider it okay to just get that done gradually in time.
    ttm de-fragmenter anyone? To help with memory thrashing.
    Last edited by timothyja; 07-09-2013 at 01:50 AM.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timothyja View Post
    ttm de-fragmenter anyone? To help with memory thrashing.
    And better logic for deciding what gets to be in VRAM.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Okay...BASICALLY done. My point is: what comes next? Maintenance mode? Is there a big-item on the TODO list that the devs have been wanting to tackle?

    EDIT: 3D is not a valid answer to me >.> Now that we are at 3.0+ I consider it okay to just get that done gradually in time.
    I would like to see more emphasis on bug fixing, there is a bug in the radeon driver, older than a year, that affects my laptop and makes it run much hotter than with Catalyst. Would like to see that fixed.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,177

    Default

    Just updated to latest Ubuntu drm-next kernel as of today, UVD still doesn't initialize with dpm enabled with my E-350. It tries several times, then gives up.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
    Just updated to latest Ubuntu drm-next kernel as of today, UVD still doesn't initialize with dpm enabled with my E-350. It tries several times, then gives up.
    Have you updated the firmware?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    So HDMI audio is mostly done, DPM is done, UVD is done, 3D is great on everything except RadeonSI... That pretty much just leaves PowerXPress unless im missing some crucial feature of Catalyst (ignoring CrossFire, which im not even sure is supported on Linux to begin with)... Any plans (not you specifically, but the paid FOSS staff) to work on PowerXPress under X, or is that basically on hold until Wayland as to not duplicate the work?
    With the providers stuff in xserver 1.14, powerXpress should work pretty well on most systems.
    Last edited by agd5f; 07-09-2013 at 11:06 AM.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vim_User View Post
    I would like to see more emphasis on bug fixing, there is a bug in the radeon driver, older than a year, that affects my laptop and makes it run much hotter than with Catalyst. Would like to see that fixed.
    Sounds like something the latest DPM code in 3.11 would help with...

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brent View Post
    Have you updated the firmware?
    Yes, he finds the firmware but fails to initialize. I'll try again when an actual proper 3.11rc1 kernel matures to rule out the possibility of an Ubuntu failure of some sorts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •