Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Crytek Goes Public On Linux Coder For CryENGINE

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,133

    Default Crytek Goes Public On Linux Coder For CryENGINE

    Phoronix: Crytek Goes Public On Linux Coder For CryENGINE

    Crytek is hiring a new Linux programmer for maintaining their Linux (client-side) portion of their popular and very advanced CryENGINE game platform...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQwNTY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    930

    Thumbs up

    Great! That also means Star Citizen will get a Linux port.

  3. #3

    Default

    This piece of news was already posted here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    183

    Default

    wwoooohhhhuuuuuu, this means I will finally be able to buy crysis 2 and 3 to play them :P

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    462

    Default

    It makes sense since they are shooting into Android, PS3/4, and General Linux, with the benefit of similar coding structure for Mac OS.

    EA must be looking at Steam and saying they have ensured revenue in tough times from another stream, and we need a piece of that.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by e8hffff View Post
    It makes sense since they are shooting into Android, PS3/4, and General Linux, with the benefit of similar coding structure for Mac OS.

    EA must be looking at Steam and saying they have ensured revenue in tough times from another stream, and we need a piece of that.
    How I wish GOG thought like that...

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheOne View Post
    wwoooohhhhuuuuuu, this means I will finally be able to buy crysis 2 and 3 to play them :P
    Too bad for you theres not a GPU in the world fast enough to play them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100

    Default

    So much for me having a life. If this is true I'll be uninstalling windows and playing Star Citizen all day until the end of time. Or my heart explodes.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    183

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kivada View Post
    Too bad for you theres not a GPU in the world fast enough to play them.
    Well my low end Radeon HD 6570 ran Crysis 1 pretty well even on high resolution and I read somewhere that they improved the engine performance for new crysis titles.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kivada View Post
    Too bad for you theres not a GPU in the world fast enough to play them.
    It might be better with openGL though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •