Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Alpha 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,388

    Default Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Alpha 6

    Phoronix: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Alpha 6

    The final alpha release for Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron is now available. Among the features that are available to Ubuntu 8.04 users are Firefox 3 Beta 3, the Vinagre VNC client, PolicyKit, PulseAudio, improved Virtualization capabilities, and even improved memory protection. Ubuntu 8.04 will use the Linux 2.6.24 kernel with X.Org 7.3 and GNOME 2.22.0. Ubuntu 8.04 Alpha 6 is accompanied by new alpha builds for Kubuntu, Kubuntu-KDE4, Edubuntu, Ubuntu JeOS, Xubuntu, Gobuntu, and Ubuntu Studio. The final release of Ubuntu 8.04 is planned for April 24 and it will be an LTS (Long Term Support) release.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=11959

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    678

    Default

    I actually like the new theme & wallpaper.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    305

    Default

    No joke, the desktop image is actually something that stands out from the previous ones in large way. I'm sure this will be something that some people won't like, but I'm impressed so far with the look.

    EDIT: I like the updated layout of Rhythmbox as also.
    Last edited by joshuapurcell; 03-07-2008 at 01:30 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuapurcell View Post
    No joke, the desktop image is actually something that stands out from the previous ones in large way. I'm sure this will be something that some people won't like, but I'm impressed so far with the look.
    No kidding... It's...striking. That's the best way to describe it.

    I kind of like it on first blush. Not to mention that you can ALWAYS change it all up anyhow... >:-)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,113

    Default

    Compiled a new 2.6.24.3 kernel without that amd module, but it would not load again. Tried booting a Hardy image I got a hold of yesterday, but it would not load either. Both give me the same result:


    Code:
    Check root= bootarg cat /proc/cmdline
    or missing modules, devices: cat /proc/modules ls /dev
    
    ALERT! /dev/disk /by-uuid /2722354a-a243-4baa-8ef5-447c5-6c42 does not exist, dropping to shell!
    
    BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu7) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands
    
    (initramfs) [ 246.237572] usb 2-1: device not accepting address 2, error
    Shame. Really wanted to take a sneak peak at Hardy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    grep PATA_AMD /boot/config-$(uname -r)
    CONFIG_PATA_AMD=m

    should be there. The blacklist hack is usually working too... You can not boot a hd image without changeing the root option. thats not fully trivial to do that. Compared to that extracting the initrd and putting it back to gether (with added blacklist) then modifiying the iso image is more easy.
    Last edited by Kano; 03-08-2008 at 01:23 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    grep PATA_AMD /boot/config-$(uname -r)
    CONFIG_PATA_AMD=m

    should be there. The blacklist hack is usually working too... You can not boot a hd image without changeing the root option. thats not fully trivial to do that. Compared to that extracting the initrd and putting it back to gether (with added blacklist) then modifiying the iso image is more easy.

    Found that option, but even if I compile with it off, the kernel is still unable to boot, and finishes with the error from my previous post. The problem is elsewhere it seems.

  8. #8

    Default

    Same here, I really like the new Ubuntu 8.04 theme

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    Kubuntu's background is ok, but Ubuntu uses Gnome which I dislike. The GUI is maybe ok, but the default keyboard settings are really stupid - especially if you want to use mc with the gnome terminal. Of course I know that these could be changed, but the out-of-the-box experience is pretty bad for console users...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,113

    Default

    I think it's a kernel issue, because neither a freshly burned Ubuntu disc nor a compiled 2.6.24 kernel is able to load properly on my machine. Both hang on the hardware driver loading part. Don't think it's a problem with the video card either. Anyone with a SB600 (I'm using a 580X AMD board) chip out there that can confirm this for me?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •